October 16, 2012

#BestOfLax: Vote for LM's Best Men's Coach of 2012

by Clare Lochary | LaxMagazine.com

Lacrosse Magazine's "Best of Lacrosse 2012" series recognizes the players, coaches, teams and moments that shined above all others in our sport this year. We want to know what you think. Fans can vote for their favorites in 10 categories. The results of each poll will be published alongside staff selections in the December issue of Lacrosse Magazine. Voting ends Monday, Oct. 29 at 3 p.m. Eastern.

See any snubs? Make your case by commenting at the bottom of this page or at #BestOfLax on Twitter.

Don't get the mag? Join US Lacrosse and its 400,000-plus members to start your subscription today.


  » View all Best of Lacrosse polls

Nominees for Best Men's Coach 

Jim Berkman, Salisbury
The all-time winningest NCAA men's lacrosse coach was at it again in 2012, despite suffering a mild heart attack in March. The Seagulls went 23-0 and won their 10th championship, defeating Cortland 14-10.

Kevin Cassese, Lehigh
Cassese and the Mountain Hawks had a historic season, earning a program-best 14 wins, their first Patriot League championship, and their first NCAA tournament berth. Cassese, a former player for the U.S. national team, was also named as an assistant to Team USA in February.

Dave Cottle, Bayhawks
In his first year as the Bayhawks' head coach, Cottle led the team to its second MLL title in three years. He favored a team-oriented approach and raced to a 10-4 overall record and a 16-6 rout of Denver in the championship game.

Alex Smith, Colorado State
The Rams won a record-setting fifth MCLA national championship this year, but it was the first with Smith at the helm. The team went 17-2 and set an all-time tournament mark for the fewest goals allowed (3.75).

Charley Toomey, Loyola
Toomey led his alma mater to its first Division I championship in any sport
and guided the team to a program-best 18 wins. The Greyhounds, low-profile in the preseason, finished the season with a top 10 offense (12.05), a top 5 defense (7.21) and an NCAA trophy.

comments powered by Disqus

More Headlines