Blogs and Commentary

posted 02.29.2012 at 11.56 a.m. by Jac Coyne

D-II/III Lacrosse Committees Requests Changes to Regional Alignments

On a conference call held last Wednesday (Feb. 22), the members of the NCAA Division II and Division III Men's Lacrosse Committees devised recommendations for the Championship Committee regarding regional alignment.

In Division II, the committee suggests that the five Western Intercollegiate Lacrosse Association members -- Adams (Colo.) State, Colorado Mesa, Dominican (Calif.), Lindenwood (Mo.), Notre Dame de Namur (Calif.) -- be moved from the North region to the South when the two-model system goes into effect in 2013.

"In an effort to be consistent within Division II lacrosse, the men's lacrosse committee is recommending to the Championships Committee in their March teleconference the change in regional alignment for the [previous] institutions," the memo stated.

This helps calm some discontent among the Western D-IIs who saw their placement in the North region as a budget-buster, putting into question their sustainability.

In Division III, the committee is recommending the elimination of the two-region format currently in use in favor of a six-region system. This would make lacrosse consistent with most of the sports sponsored by Division III.

"The recommendation results from an initiative by the Championships Committee to create a common nomenclature and general format within Division III," the memo stated. "The committee, while having a few concerns, believes this model best represents the growth, both current and anticipated, within the sport and division. Next steps will be shared by the Championships Committee in a to-be-determined timeline."

The Division II committee is comprised of Limestone athletic director Mike Cerino (chair), Dowling head coach Tim Boyle and Glenn Hoffman, the AD at Merrimack. The Division III committee is made up of Lynchburg's Steve Koudelka, Nazareth's Rob Randall, Susquehanna's Stewart Moan, along with Conn. College AD Fran Shields (chair). Jeff Jarnecke and Leslie Cagle were the NCAA representatives on the call.