Blogs and Commentary

posted 06.25.2014 at 2.21 p.m. by Corey McLaughlin

Thompson, Cummings Nominated for ESPYs

What's better: a Heisman Trophy or a co-Tewaaraton Award? A straight-up Tewaaraton win as a sophomore or a second-straight final four most outstanding player award?

It's all up for debate — and fan vote — in the annual ESPY Awards.

Albany rising senior attackman Lyle Thompson, who shared the 2014 Tewaaraton men's award with his older brother Miles, is one of the finalists for Best Male College Athlete while Maryland rising junior midfielder Taylor Cummings is up for Best Female College Athlete.

They are the only lacrosse representatives in the 33 categories open for voting, which ends July 16 at 9 p.m. ET. That's when the ESPYs begin on ESPN, hosted by rapper Drake. He, of course, made headlines in the lacrosse community in late April, when in a new single, Jay Z implied that Drake was "soft as a lacrosse team."

Wonder if that will come up in a monologue or lead-in to the awards for which Thompson and Cummings are nominated?

Thompson faces a stiff challenge, including Florida State's Heisman Trophy winning quarterback Jameis Winston, Boston College hockey player Johnny Gaudreau, Creighton basketball's Doug McDermott and Penn State wrestler David Taylor.

Cummings, the first sophomore to win the Tewaaraton after the Terps' national title season, may find the biggest competition from UConn women's basketball's Breanna Stewart, who won the Naismith Trophy and earned a second consecutive NCAA tourney MOP award as the Huskies finished a perfect 40-0. Virginia soccer player Morgan Brian, Penn State volleyball's Micha Hancock and Florida softball's Hannah Rogers are the other women's finalists.

Last year Duke coach John Danowski was nominated for Best Coach/Manager of the Year, an award which went to Louisville men's basketball coach Rick Pitino.