Blogs and Commentary

posted 08.16.2011 at 8.00 a.m. by Corey McLaughlin

Upon Further Review, Ned Crotty is 2011 MLL Scoring Champ; Rabil Finishes Second

The challenge button was hit, and upon further review, Ned Crotty is the 2011 Major League Lacrosse scoring champion.

The second-year Rochester Rattlers attackman was found to have scored 50 points this season to Paul Rabil's 49 sometime Monday, a swap from what was reported on the league's official website over the weekend – that Rabil was the scoring champ with 50 points, and Rabil second with 49.

There were evidently two stat-keeping errors in the Rochester-Boston Cannons overtime game Saturday night that led to the change by the league Monday. MLL posted a two-paragraph statement on its website,, addressing the issue.

"Major League Lacrosse has corrected a pair of statistical errors from Saturday night's game between the Rochester Rattlers and the Boston Cannons. As a result of the adjustments, Rochester attackman Ned Crotty finishes the season as the League's leader with 50 points," the statement read. "Major League Lacrosse regularly reviews statistics in response to inquiries on a weekly basis."

There was no word whether additional statistics were adjusted from over the weekend, or from the season.

The Boston-Rochester game was the regular-season finale for both teams. This is Crotty's first scoring title, and the former Tewaaraton Award winning attackman from Duke was credited by some throughout the season for helping Rochester dig out from an 0-6 start, and gain some respectability while still finishing 2-10.

For about two days, it was Rabil's second scoring title of his MLL career. The sport's most recognizable player also won in 2009.

On Twitter, Rabil even had retweeted a post Sunday from his strength and conditioning coach, Jay Dyer, that linked to a story on the MLL's website titled "Rabil Strikes Gold as MLL Scoring Leader." That story has since been removed.

Rabil's Boston team is the top seed for the four-team MLL playoffs, held Aug. 27-28 in Annapolis, and they are seeking the franchise's first MLL title.

The Cannons will play the fourth-seeded Chesapeake Bayhawks in the first semifinal at noon Aug. 27. Second-seeded Denver will play third-seeded Hamilton at 3 p.m. The championship is Sunday, Aug. 28 at 3 p.m. All games are at Navy Marine-Corps Memorial Stadium.