April 15, 2009

Tewaaraton Trophy Nominees Announced

from staff reports

The Tewaaraton Foundation has announced the 2009 men's and women's nominees for the Tewaaraton Trophy. Nominees were selected by coaches across all three divisions. These nominees are one step closer in the pursuit of the Tewaaraton Trophy, awarded to the nation's top collegiate male and female player. The ninth-annual Tewaaraton Award Ceremony is May 28.

Virginia leads all men's teams with four nominees -- Garrett Billings, Shamel Bratton, Danny Glading and Mike Timmes -- among 21 overall.

On the women's side, Northwestern (Hilary Bowen, Morgan Lathrop and reigning Tewaaraton Trophy winner Hannah Nielsen) and Maryland (freshman Karri Ellen Johnson, Sarah Mollison and Caitlyn McFadden) pace the field with three nominees each among 23 overall.

Adelphi's Rachel Ray is the only non-Division I nominee for either gender.

Men's Nominees

Matt Abbott, Syracuse
Garrett Billings, Virginia
Billy Bitter, North Carolina
Jeremy Blevins, UMBC
Shamel Bratton, Virginia
Jordan Burke, Brown
Jay Card, Hofstra
Brandon Corp, Colgate
Ned Crotty, Duke
Danny Glading, Virginia
John Glynn, Cornell
Zack Greer, Bryant
Dan Hardy, Syracuse
Shane Koppens, Loyola
Mark Kovler, Princeton
Jack McBride, Princeton
Kenny Nims, Syracuse
Doc Schneider, Massachusetts
Max Seibald, Cornell
Mike Timms, Virginia
Scott Rodgers, Notre Dame

Women's Nominees

Hilary Bowen, Northwestern
Sarah Bullard, Duke
Jillian Byers, Notre Dame
Caroline Cryer, Duke
Ali DeLuca, Penn
Sarah Downing, Vanderbilt
Amber Falcone, North Carolina
Molly Ford, Georgetown
Kelly Haggerty, Ohio State
Karri Ellen Johnson, Maryland
Ashby Kaestner, Georgetown
Morgan Lathhrop, Northwestern
Caitlyn McFadden, Maryland
Holly McGarvie, Princeton
Sarah Mollison, Maryland
Hannah Nielsen, Northwestern
Rachel Ray, Adelphi
Katie Rowan, Syracuse
Jenn Russell, North Carolina
Emma Spiro, Penn
Erin Tochihara, Princeton
Julie Wadland, Dartmouth
Blair Weymouth, Virginia

comments powered by Disqus

More Headlines