May 12, 2009

NEILA Hands Out Postseason Awards

from press releases

FAIRFIELD, Conn. - The New England Intercollegiate Lacrosse Association has announced its postseason awards in all three divisions. Each Division had a Turfer/NEILA Player of the Year, Rookie of the Year and Coach of the Year selected. In addition All-New England Teams were announced with a first and second team honored in Divisions I and III and first team awards announced in Division II.

Brown University goaltender Jordan Burke (Potomac, MD) was named the Turfer/NEILA Player of the Year for Division I while Bears coach, Lars Tiffany was named Turfer/NEILA Coach of the Year after leading his team to their first NCAA Tournament in 12 years. Burke, who was named the Ivy League Player of the Year for the second consecutive season led the Ivy League in saves per game (12.33) and save percentage (.617). The senior is a finalist for the Tewaarton Award as the National Player of the Year.

The Tufer/NEILA Division I Rookie of the Year is Harvard attacker Jeff Cohen (Syosset, NY). Cohen was a two-time NEILA Rookie of the Week in his first spring at Harvard. He led the team with 34 goals, 41 points and five man-up scores.  Cohen's 34 tallies rank ninth on the Crimson's all-time single-season list and placed him third in the conference and eighth in the nation in goals per game (2.62).

After leading his team to their first ever NCAA Division II Final Four, Merrimack senior Greg Rogowski (Cohoes, NY), has been named the Turfer/NEILA Division II Player of the Year. A three-time All-American and the Northeast-10 Player of the Year, Rogowski led the conference with 52 goals and 82 points this season. Rogowski sits at 209 career goals, third all-time in Division II history and has 311 career points, fourth all-time.

Bentley College freshman Brendan Grant (Walpole, MA) was named the Turfer/NEILA Division II Rookie of the Year while Falcons head coach Jim Murphy was tabbed Turfer/NEILA Division II Coach of the Year. Murphy was named the Northeast-10 Coach of the Year after guiding his team to an overall record of 9-4 this season, third place finish in the league and a semifinal berth in the NE-10 playoffs. Grant had had one of the most productive offensive seasons for a freshman in the NE-10 this season. He finished the year tied for second on the team in scoring with with 12 goals and 13 assists, 25 points.

As his team prepares for the NCAA Division III Quarterfinals, Middlebury senior Mike Stone (Boston, MA) has been named the Turfer/NEILA Division III Player of the Year. The NESCAC Player of the Year Stone scored 52 goals on the season and added 15 assists for 67 total points. He led the NESCAC in goals/game with 3.25, while ranking second with 4.19 points/game. Nick Jez (Somers, CT) from Western New England College was named the Turfer/NEILA Division III Rookie of the Year and Wesleyan head coach John Raba was tabbed Turfer/NEILA Coach of the Year for Division III.

Seven different schools had players honored with Turfer/NEILA Division I All-New England Honors. NEILA Player of the Year Jordan Burke (Potomac, MD) from Brown was the first team goaltender. On the first team attack were Bryant senior Zack Greer (Whitby, ON), Brown junior Thomas Muldoon (Oakton, VA) and UMass senior Jim Conolly (North Andover, MA). The six midfielders included Jason Duboe (Long Grove, IL) from Harvard, Yale's Mike Karwoski (Green Lawn, NY), Brown's Brady Williams (Columbus, OH), Dartmouth's Jim Mullen (Mt. Lebannon, PA), Bobby Hayes (Rockville Centre, NY) from UMass and Bryant's Andrew Hennessey (Wading River, NY). The Bears' Jake Hardy (Framingham, MA) was the first team long stick midfielder. On defense, Brown's Peter Fallon (Baltimore, MD), Harvard's Sam Slaughter (Wilton, CT) and Diego Godoi (Loudon, NH) from UMass were the first team honorees.

The All-New England second team attackers were Tim Balise (Wilbraham, MA) of UMass, Dean Gibbons (Garden City, NY) of Harvard, and Andrew Feinberg (Owing Mills, MD) from Brown. Two Bears and two Crimson were part of the second team of midfield as Brown's Jack Walsh (Chevy Chase, MD) and Reade Seligman (Essex Falls, NJ) earned honors along with Harvard's Travis Burr (Northport, NY) and Max Motschwiller (Glen Head, NY). Fairfield's Brent Adams (Norwalk, CT) and UMass' Evan Blum (Del Ray Beach, FL) round out the second team midfield. Harvard's Eric Posner (Huntington, NY) was named All-NEILA as a long stick midfielder.  The second team defense honorees were Casey Hintgen (Carlsbad, CA) from Dartmouth, Will Gano (Summitt, NJ) of Yale and Matt Petre (Somers, NY) from Fairfield. UMass senior Doc Schneider (Massapequa, NY) was the second team goaltender.

Four of the five NEILA Division II teams placed players on the Turfer/All-New England squad. Leading the attackers was Player of the Year Greg Rogowski (Cohoes, NY) from Merrimack. Bentley's Kevin Gould (Duxbury, MA), Southern New Hampshire's Mike Ball (Salem, NH) and St. Anselm's Chris Murphy (Winchester, MA) round out the front line. Merrimack and Southern New Hampshire each had two All-New England midfielders. The Warriors' Jo Pisano (Dedham, MA) and Mark Webber (Mansfield, MA) were honored, as were the Penmen's Gary McKay (Billerica, MA) and Sean Ball (Salem, NH). Bentley's Mike MacDonald (East Falmouth, MA) and St. Anselm's Matt Suerte (Wakefield, MA) round out the all-star midfielders. Doug Logan (Beaverton, OR) of Bentley was an All-New England defender along with teammate Matt Allen (Cape Elizabeth, ME). Mike Miano (Branford, CT) from Merrimack and Kevin DeBenedetto (Reading, MA) of St. Anselm also were named top defenders. The Warriors' Corey Spinale (Wakefield, MA) and Falcons' Kris Dambach (Chester, NJ) were named All-NEILA goaltenders.

Nine programs saw players earn All-New England honors on one of two Division III squads. The first team attackers were D.J. Hessler (Monkton, MD) from Tufts, Russ Follansbee (Deerfield, MA) of Wesleyan and Brody Savoie (Wilbraham, MA) of WNEC. Player of the Year Mike Stone (Boston, MA) led the midfielders and was joined by Middlebury teammate Skyler Hopkins (Easton, MD). Rookie of the Year Nick Jez (Somers, CT) earned first team honors as well along with his teammate at Western New England Scott Kukis (Sudbury, MA). Endicott's Eddie O'Reilly (Beverly, MA) and Bowdoin's Cullen Winkler (Milton, MA) round out the first team midfielders. Tufts had two more players on the first team as Jordan Yarboro (Herndon, VA) was named All-England as a long stick midfielder and Matt Harrigan (Damestown, MD) earned first team honors as a goaltender. The first team defenders were Spike Malangone (Lake Grove, NY) of Wesleyan, Jared Pabis (Wilbraham, MA) from WNEC and Boomer Repko (New Cannan, CT) from Bowdoin.

The Turfer/NEILA Division III second team attackers consisted of Tufts' Clem McNally (Far Hills, NJ), Endicott's Nick Cosco (Londonberry, NH) and Springfield's Jake Beebe (Sudbury, MA). Wesleyan and Tufts each placed two midfielders on the second team. The Cardinals' John Froats (Yorktown, NY) and Lonny Blumenthal (Ballwin, MO) were honored while the Jumbos Mike Droesch (Setauket, NY) and Matt Witko (Chappaqua, NY) were also on the second team. Rounding out the midfield were Springfield's Chris Jez (Somers, CT) and Eastern Connecticut's Dolan Simmons (Mystic, CT). Eytan Saperstein (Hewlett, NY) from Tufts, Adrien Peacock (Billerica, MA) from Endicott and Steve Lane (Groton, CT) from Eastern Connecticut were the second team defenders. Bowdoin's Bryan Holden (Cape Elizabeth, ME) was the second team long-stick midfielder. The second team goaltender was Michael Gerbush (Glen Head, NY) from Williams.

comments powered by Disqus

More Headlines