February 9, 2010

Lowe's Senior CLASS Nominees Named

from press release

OVERLAND PARK, Kan. – Twenty NCAA® men’s lacrosse student-athletes who excel both on and off the field were tabbed as candidates today for the 2010 Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award. To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must be classified as an NCAA Division I senior and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence – classroom, character, community and competition. The complete list of candidates follows this release.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School™, the Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities.

This year’s candidate class includes 13 student-athletes on teams ranked in the Nike/Inside Lacrosse media preseason top 20 poll. In addition, nine candidates are on the preseason Inside Lacrosse Face-Off Yearbook Division I All-American list. Six candidates own cumulative grade point averages of 3.5 or better.

Lowe’s, an official Corporate Partner of the NCAA, will announce the 2010 Senior CLASS Award™ winner at the NCAA Division I Men’s Lacrosse Championship at M&T Bank Stadium in Baltimore May 29-31.

The 20 candidates will be narrowed to 10 finalists midway through the regular season, and those 10 names will be placed on the official ballot. Ballots will be distributed through a nationwide voting system to media, coaches and fans, who will select one finalist who best exemplifies excellence in the four Cs of classroom, character, community and competition.

“The lacrosse candidates represent a diverse cross-section of universities and a wide array of academic courses of study,” said Tom Lamb, Lowe’s senior vice president of marketing. “But the common denominator is a passion for their sport and for finishing their careers as students and athletes at the top.”

This marks the fourth year for the men’s lacrosse division of the Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award. Cornell University midfielder Max Seibald received the award for the 2009 season and Syracuse University attackman Mike Leveille took home the 2008 honor. In 2007, Cornell goalkeeper Matt McMonagle won the inaugural men’s lacrosse award.

2010 Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award Lacrosse Candidates

Colin Ambler - Attack - Drexel University
Gavin Buckley - Goalkeeper - St. John's University
Ken Clausen - Defense - University of Virginia
Kevin Curtin - Attack - Hobart College
Chris Daniello - Attack - Syracuse University
Pierce Derkac - Midfield - Cornell University
Charley Dickenson - Midfield - University of Denver
Jason Duboe - Midfield - Harvard University
Ridge Flick - Attack - U.S. Air Force Academy
Brent Herbst - Goalkeeper - Siena College
Ryan Hurley - Attack - Cornell University
Michael Kimmel - Midfield - Johns Hopkins University
Andrew Maisano - Midfield - United States Military Academy
Sean McCoy - Goalkeeper - Virginia Military Institute
Scott Monfort - Midfield - Bucknell University
Thomas Muldoon - Attack - Brown University
Brian Phipps - Goalkeeper - University of Maryland, College Park
Max Quinzani - Attack - Duke University
Scott Rodgers - Goalkeeper - University of Notre Dame
Kyle Wimer - Midfield - University of Maryland, Baltimore County

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School™, the Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award honors the attributes of senior student-athletes in four areas: classroom, community, character and competition.  The award program is designed exclusively for college seniors who are utilizing their complete athletic eligibility, remaining committed to their university and pursuing the many rewards that a senior season can bring. Sportscaster Dick Enberg, Honorary Chairman of the Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award, first conceived the idea of an award for seniors in 2001 in response to the growing trend of men’s basketball players leaving school early for the NBA. The award program has expanded the past two years to include a total of nine NCAA® Division I sports – football, men’s and women’s soccer, men’s ice hockey, men’s lacrosse, baseball and softball in addition to men’s and women’s basketball. The award is sponsored by Lowe’s, an official Corporate Partner of the NCAA®, and managed by Premier Sports Management.  For more information, visit www.seniorCLASSaward.com.

With fiscal year 2008 sales of $48.2 billion, Lowe’s Companies, Inc. is a FORTUNE® 50 company that serves approximately 14 million customers a week at more than 1,675 home improvement stores in the United States and Canada. Founded in 1946 and based in Mooresville, N.C., Lowe’s is the second-largest home improvement retailer in the world. For more information, visit Lowes.com.

The NCAA is a membership-led nonprofit association of colleges and universities committed to supporting academic and athletics opportunities for more than 400,000 student-athletes at more than 1,000 member colleges and universities. Each year, more than 54,000 student-athletes compete in NCAA championships in Divisions I, II and III sports. Visit www.NCAA.org and www.NCAA.com for more details about the Association, its goals and members and corporate partnerships that help support programs for student-athletes.

comments powered by Disqus

More Headlines