May 10, 2010

Hofstra to Tackle Third-Seeded Terps

from press release

 - The Hofstra Pride will travel to College Park, Maryland this Saturday, May 15 when they face the Terrapins of the University of Maryland in the first round of the 2010 NCAA Division I Men's Lacrosse Championship Tournament, the NCAA announced Sunday night. Game time for the ESPNU-televised contest at Capital One Field at Byrd Stadium is Noon.

The Pride, who are unseeded, earned their 16th trip to the NCAA Men's Lacrosse Championships by recording a 9-4 record in 2010 including victories over tournament-bound teams, Johns Hopkins, Army and Delaware. Hofstra is receiving a bid for the third consecutive year and the fourth time since 2006. The Pride is making NCAA appearances in three consecutive years for the first time since the 1973-74-75 teams achieved the feat.

Hofstra will be meeting Maryland (11-3), the three-seed in this year's Championship, for the tenth time in school history but the first time since the 2000 NCAA Championship first round when the sixth-seeded Terrapins edged the Pride, 14-12, at the University of Maryland-Baltimore County. Maryland leads the series, 8-1. The Terrapins also posted victories over the Pride in 1975 (19-11), 1981 (14-3), 1982 (13-12), 1983 (9-7), 1985 (14-9), 1986 (16-2, and 1987 (15-1). Hofstra's win against Maryland came in 1984 at Shuart Stadium, 10-7. Saturday's game will be the third meeting between the Pride and the Terrapins in a NCAA Championship Tournament contest after encounters in 1975 and 2000.

Ticket information for Hofstra's first round game at Maryland will be available Monday afternoon, May 10 on the Pride athletic website at

The 16-team NCAA Championship field includes six conference champions with automatic qualification - America East Conference (Stony Brook), Colonial Athletic Association (Delaware), Eastern College Athletic Conference (Denver), Ivy League (Princeton), Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference (Mt. St. Mary's) and Patriot League (Army). The rest of the field was selected at large. In addition to Hofstra and Maryland, first round match-ups on Saturday include: Johns Hopkins at #5 Duke at Noon; Loyola at #7 Cornell at 2:30 p.m.; Denver at #8 Stony Brook at 5 p.m.; and Mt. St. Mary's at #1 Virginia at 7:30 p.m. First round match-ups on Sunday include: Notre Dame at #6 Princeton at 2:30 p.m.; Delaware at #4 North Carolina at 5 p.m.; and Army at #2 Syracuse at 7:30 p.m.

Syracuse University, the two-time defending national champions, has captured the NCAA Division I Lacrosse National Championship 10 times. Since 1988, either Syracuse or Princeton has won the title in every year except Johns Hopkins' 2005 and 2007 victories, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill's 1991 victory and the University of Virginia's 1999, 2003 and 2006 titles. Johns Hopkins is the only team to have made the championship bracket every year since 1972.

ESPNU will televise all eight first round games next weekend, the two quarterfinal games at Princeton Stadium on Saturday, May 22 and the two quarterfinal contests at Stony Brook's LaValle Stadium on Sunday, May 23. The Division I semifinal and championship game will be held at M&T Bank Stadium in Baltimore, Maryland on May 29-31. The Division I semifinals will be televised live on ESPN2 on Saturday, May 29. The championship game will be televised live on ESPN on Monday, May 31.

comments powered by Disqus

More Headlines