May 12, 2010

Cream of Crop: Tewaaraton Finalists Announced

from staff reports

The race for the Heisman Trophy of lacrosse, the Tewaaraton Award, has entered its home stretch. Five men and five women remain in standing for the Tewaaraton Trophy, awarded annually to the top men's and women's collegiate lacrosse players.

While no defensemen has ever won the Tewaaraton, two of the five men's finalists are long poles: Virginia's Ken Clausen and Syracuse's Joel White. There are also two Canadian finalists: Delaware's Curtis Dickson and Stony Brook's Kevin Crowley. Duke's Ned Crotty, a fifth-year senior and preseason favorite, rounds out the top five. Clausen and Dickson are also seniors. Crowley and White are juniors.

On the women's side, preseason favorite Caitlyn McFadden of Maryland highlights an all-senior field of finalists. Also included are Ali DeLuca, who this year became Penn's all-time leading scorer and Virginia's Brittany Kalkstein, who became the NCAA's all-time leader for draw controls. Northwestern's Katrina Dowd and North Carolina's Jenn Russell are also finalists.

Which men's lacrosse player will win the 2010 Tewaaraton Award?
Ken Clausen, Virginia
Ned Crotty, Duke
Kevin Crowley, Stony Brook
Curtis Dickson, Delaware
Joel White, Syracuse

View Results


The winners will be named June 3 at the University Club of Washington, D.C.

“I truly believe that each of these finalists has showcased the ability to step forward and claim
the Tewaaraton Award as their own this year. As I have stated throughout the season, the
selection committees have done an extraordinary job at selecting the top contenders battling for
this year’s award. Everyone is welcome to come out and see which of these finalist has stepped
forward to claim their place in history at the June 3 Award Ceremony,” said Robert Sweeney,
President of the Greater Washington Sports Alliance.

Official Men’s 2010 Tewaaraton Award Finalists
Ken Clausen, University of Virginia – Senior (Defense), Downingtown, Pa.
Ned Crotty, Duke University – Senior (Attack), New Vernon, N.J.
Kevin Crowley, Stony Brook University – Junior (Midfield), New Westminster, B.C., Canada
Curtis Dickson, University of Delaware – Senior (Attack), Port Coquitlam, B.C., Canada
Joel White, Syracuse University – Junior (Defense), Cortland, N.Y.

Official Women’s 2010 Tewaaraton Award Finalists
Ali DeLuca, University of Pennsylvania – Senior (Midfield), Hillsborough, N.J.
Katrina Dowd, Northwestern University – Senior (Midfield), Yorktown Heights, N.Y.
Brittany Kalkstein, University of Virginia – Senior (Midfield), Baltimore, Md.
Caitlyn McFadden, University of Maryland – Senior (Midfield), Phoenix, Md.
Jenn Russell, University of North Carolina – Senior (Midfield), Andover, Mass.

Which women's lacrosse player will win the 2010 Tewaaraton Award?
Ali DeLuca, Penn
Katrina Dowd, Northwestern
Brittany Kalkstein, Virginia
Caitlyn McFadden, Maryland
Jenn Russell, North Carolina

View Results

comments powered by Disqus

More Headlines