June 1, 2010

Rodgers Named MOP of NCAA Tournament

from press release

BALTIMORE, Md. – Notre Dame senior goalie Scott Rodgers was named the Most Outstanding Player of the 2010 NCAA Division I Men's Lacrosse Championship. Joining Rodgers on the all-tournament team were his Fighting Irish teammates Zach Brenneman (Jr./M) and Kevin Ridgway (Jr./D).

Rodgers (Wantagh, N.Y./MacArthur) was an instrumental part in Notre Dame reaching the title game of the NCAA Championship for the first time in program history. It was the fifth time that the Most Outstanding Player was awarded to a member of the team that lost in the championship game. The fifth-year senior made 53 saves (13.25 per game) and surrendered just 23 goals (5.75 per game) during the four games of the tournament.

Rodgers and the Notre Dame defense held Duke to its lowest goal total of the season in the 6-5 overtime loss in Monday's title game. The Blue Devils entered the contest averaging 16.3 goals per game during the tournament. Rodgers concluded the 2010 campaign ranked first nationally in save percentage (.605) and third in goals-against average (7.56). The two-time All-America honoree finished his stellar Notre Dame career with a 24-6 record to go along with a 6.77 goals-against average and a .642 save percentage.

Brenneman (East Hampton, N.Y./East Hampton) notched a hat trick in the 12-7 win over Cornell in Saturday's semifinal and followed that up with another three-goal effort against Duke in the final. The junior midfielder finished the season as Notre Dame's leader in goals (29) and points (42). He also had a team-best six hat tricks this season.

Ridgway (Kensington, Md./Georgetown Prep) was an anchor on the Fighting Irish defense throughout the season and playoffs. The five goals allowed to Princeton and Maryland in the first and second rounds, respectively, were the fewest surrendered by an Irish squad in an NCAA Tournament game. Notre Dame finished the season ranked second nationally in goals-against average (7.53).

The Fighting Irish concluded the 2010 season with a 10-7 record. The all-tournament team appears below.


Zach Howell, Duke
Max Quinzani, Duke
Chris Bocklet, Virginia
Steele Stanwick, Virginia
Steve Mock, Cornell


Zach Brenneman, Notre Dame


C.J. Constabile, Duke


Mike Manley, Duke
Kevin Ridgway, Notre Dame


Scott Rodgers, Notre Dame


Scott Rodgers, Notre Dame

comments powered by Disqus

More Headlines