July 9, 2010

ECAC Releases Men's All-Academic Team

from press release

— ECAC Commissioner Rudy Keeling is pleased to announce that 31 student-athletes from the ECAC Lacrosse League have earned a spot on the prestigious 2010 All-ECAC Academic Team.

In order to be selected to the team, a student-athlete must maintain at least a 3.20 cumulative GPA through at least four semesters of work at his current institution, be a significant contributor to his team and have participated in at least 50 percent of the games (33 percent of the minutes for goalies).

Quinnipiac University led the way with seven selections followed by Denver and Fairfield with five selections each. Ohio State had four student-athletes named to the team, while Bellarmine and Hobart had three players selected, and Air Force and Loyola had two players honored.

Individually, Patrick Rogers, a sophomore midfielder from Denver posted an impressive 3.91 GPA, the highest among all of the honorees. Rogers played in all 17 games for the Pioneers and earned ten starts. He scored 20 goals and tallied five assists for 25 points, and also registered three game-winning goals. Rogers recorded a career-high five points on three goals and two assists against Loyola, and was named the ECAC Offensive Player of the Week (5/3/10) for his efforts.

Five other players also posted GPAs above a 3.70, including Hobart's Kevin Curtin (3.80), Loyola's Nick Federeci (3.74) and Kyle Cottrell (3.73), Bellarmine's Ross Doan (3.73), and Fairfield's Sean Bannon (3.72).

Bannon was also one of only three players to be named to the ECAC All-Academic team and the ECAC All-Star team. Bannon was named to the second team at defense. Hobart goalie Max Silberlicht and Quinnipiac goalie Kevin Benzing were also second team selections.

2010 All-ECAC Academic Team

Air Force
Ridge Flick Sr. A 3.49
John DeBonis So. M 3.20

Scott Bowles Jr. G 3.32
Ross Doan So. D 3.73
Patrick Ellis Jr. D 3.49

Charley Dickenson Sr. M 3.33
John Dickenson Sr. M 3.25
Cameron Kerr Sr. M 3.21
Patrick Rogers So. M 3.91
Steve Simonetti Jr. D 3.20

Sean Bannon Jr. D 3.72
Mike Esposito So. A 3.49
Steve Golmont Jr. M 3.48
Doug Kuring Jr. A 3.42
Matt Plominski Jr. M 3.24

Kevin Curtin Sr. A 3.80
Max Silberlicht Sr. G 3.43
Mike Suits Sr. M 3.33

Kyle Cottrell Sr. D 3.73
Nick Federici Sr. A 3.74

Ohio State
Paul Beery Jr. M 3.51
Jarred Bowman Jr. M 3.64
Eddie Bambino So. M 3.40
Scott Lathrop Jr. M 3.25

Kevin Benzing Sr. G 3.24
Alex DeAlmeida Sr. A 3.54
Zach Dendas Sr. M 3.24
Ted Dimond Sr. A 3.34
Drew Falkenhan Sr. D 3.52
Derek Flynn So. M 3.56
Jake Glebocki Jr. D 3.54

comments powered by Disqus

More Headlines