January 28, 2011

Former Hen Marino Inducted into Baltimore HOF

from press release

HUNT VALLEY, Md. - Bernard "Butch" Marino, who followed an outstanding career at the University of Delaware with a successful nine-year tenure in the professional ranks, was one of 10 former players and coaches inducted into the Greater Baltimore Chapter of U.S. Lacrosse 2011 Hall of Fame class Saturday evening at the Grand Mason Lodge.

Marino, a native of Camillus, N.Y. (West Genesee High School), was joined by Joe Breschi, Michelle Meyer Dwan, Anne Ensor, Quint Kessenich, Krystin Porcella, Stephanie Roberts Radebaugh, Tony Seaman, Gina Roberts Ubriaco, and Michael Watson in a class that featured outstanding men's and women's players and coaches from all levels of the game.

Current Delaware head coach Bob Shillinglaw, who coached Marino during the midfielder's two seasons at UD in 1986 and 1987, was on hand to help celebrate the occasion.

After playing two years of junior college lacrosse, Marino came to Delaware prior to the 1986 season and was an instant standout for the Blue Hens. He led the team to a two-year record of 18-14, including a mark of 11-1 in East Coast Conference play. Delaware captured the league title with a 6-0 mark in 1986 and was runner-up in 1987 with a 5-1 slate.

Marino earned first team All-CAA honors both season, contributing 31 goals and six assists in 16 games as a junior in 1986 and a team-leading 43 points on 29 goals and 14 assists as a senior in 1987. He competed in the USILA North-South Senior All-Star Game in 1987.

Following his collegiate career, Marino was a star for nine years in the Major Indoor Lacrosse League for the Baltimore Thunder and the Pittsburgh Bulls and also helped Team USA to a World Lacrosse Championship victory over Australia in 1994.

Marino becomes the first athlete with University of Delaware ties inducted into the Hall of Fame since Liza Shoemaker Kelly was inducted in 2009. An All-American midfielder for the UD women, Kelly is now head women's lacrosse coach at the University of Denver.

Breschi was a standout at North Carolina and is currently head coach at his alma mater; Seamon will enter his 13th season as head coach at Towson this spring after also leading championship teams at Johns Hopkins and Penn; Kessenich was a four-time All-American goalkeeper at Johns Hopkins and is currently a lacrosse analyst for ESPN TV; Watson was a four-time All-American at Virginia; Porcella was a standout player at Loyola and later coached at Loyola and at the John Carroll School; Meyer Dwan was the 1997 National Midfielder of the Year at Loyola; Roberts Radebaugh was a two-time All-American at Loyola; Roberts Ubriaco was a three-time all-conference selection at Loyola; and Ensor played at New Hampshire and has spent the last 15 years as head coach of the Hereford (Md.) High School girl's lacrosse team.

comments powered by Disqus

More Headlines