February 8, 2011

Stony Brook Unanimous Choice in America East

from press release

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. – Stony Brook, the defending America East champion in men's lacrosse, has been picked to win the conference title in 2011, as the Seawolves are the unanimous pick, receiving all five first-place votes. Coaches were not allowed to vote for their own team.

Stony Brook, which won the conference championship for the first time since 2002, returns its starting attack and midfield, two units that combined to tally 189 goals and 101 assists. The Seawolves' four preseason All-Americans, senior Kevin Crowley (New Westminster, British Columbia), senior Jordan McBride (New Westminster, British Columbia), senior Tom Compitello (Hauppauge, N.Y.) and senior Adam Rand (Niantic, Conn.) are part of an offense that ranked fourth in the country with more than 13 goals per game.

Senior Bryan Reinert (Allentown, Pa.) and junior Kyle Moeller (South Setauket, N.Y.) will be counted on at close defense. 2010 America East Coach of the Year Rick Sowell will count on senior Vonzel LeGall (Saratoga Springs, N.Y.) and junior Jared LeVerne (Jericho, N.Y.) as defensive middies, while Sowell has numerous options at long stick midfielder, including junior Greg Miceli (King City, Ontario) and JJ Laforet (London, Ontario).

The 2011 season gets underway on Saturday, February 26, when Stony Brook, ranked fifth in the coaches poll and eighth in the media poll, hosts top-ranked Virginia at 12 p.m.

2010 America East Men's Lacrosse Preseason Poll
Rank School (1st) Points
1. Stony Brook (5) 25
2. Albany 20
3. Hartford (1) 16
4. UMBC 13
5. Vermont 11
6. Binghamton 5

comments powered by Disqus

More Headlines