March 4, 2011

Tewaaraton Watch Underway

from press release

WASHINGTON, D.C. – The Greater Washington Sports Alliance has announced the 2011 Tewaaraton Award watch list, as the race begins for the annual honor bestowed on the nation's top collegiate male and female lacrosse players.

The watch list will be whittled down three more times until the top 10 male and female Tewaaraton Award finalists are named in May.

"We are thrilled to announce this year's watch list just as the 2011 season is getting underway," said Robert Sweeney, president of the Greater Washington Sports Alliance. "The selection committees have done an outstanding job at choosing the top contenders for the Tewaaraton Award across the country. This year's list represents 47 different educational institutions from over 17 conferences, and 48 of these athletes are repeat nominees from last year."

The winners will be announced June 2 at the historic Warner Theatre in Washington, D.C.

Tewaaraton Award Watch List (Men)

Stefan Bauer, Lafayette College
Peter Baum, Colgate University
Billy Bitter, University of North Carolina
Chris Bocklet, University of Virginia
Jeremy Boltus, United States Military Academy
Sam Bradman, Salisbury State University
Shamel Bratton, University of Virginia
Zach Brenneman, University of Notre Dame
Jay Card, Hofstra University
Grant Catalino, University of Maryland
Matt Chadderdon, Le Moyne College
Jake Clarke, Bucknell University
Tom Compitello, Stony Brook University
CJ Costabile, Duke University
Kevin Crowley, Stony Brook University
Jimmy Dailey, Stevenson University
Chris DeLuca, State University of New York Cortland
Jimmy Dunster, University of North Carolina
David Earl, University of Notre Dame
Barney Ehrmann, Georgetown University
Peter Fallon, Brown University
Brian Farrell, University of Maryland
Tyler Fiorito, Princeton University
Ryan Flanagan, University of North Carolina
John Galloway, Syracuse University
Dean Gibbons, Harvard University
Matt Gibson, Yale University
Bill Henderson, United States Military Academy
DJ Hessler, Tufts University
Dan Hostetler, Georgetown University
Zach Howell, Duke University
Brett Hughes, University of Pennsylvania
Brian Karalunas, Villanova University
Stephen Keogh, Syracuse University
John Lade, Syracuse University
Jamie Lincoln, Hofstra University
Matt Mackrides, Pennsylvania State University
Mark Manos, Drexel University
JoJo Marasco, Syracuse University
Kiel Matisz, Robert Morris University
Jack McBride, Princeton University
Jordan McBride, Stony Brook University
Peter Mezzanotte, Towson University
Rickey Mirabito, Georgetown University
Rob Pannell, Cornell University
Tom Perini, Lafayette College
Adam Rand, Stony Brook University
Kevin Ridgway, University of Notre Dame
Brett Schmidt, University of Maryland
Steele Stanwick, University of Virginia
Charlie Streep, Bucknell University
Jeremy Thompson, Syracuse University
Justin Tuma, Roanoke College
Justin Turri, Duke University
Chad Wiedmaier, Princeton University
Kyle Wharton, Johns Hopkins University
Joel White, Syracuse University
Ryan Young, University of Maryland

Tewaaraton Award Watch List (Women)

Casey Ancarrow, James Madison University
Kelly Barnes, Georgetown University
Shaylyn Blaney, University of Notre Dame
Sarah Bray, Hamilton College
Erin Brennan, University of Pennsylvania
Sarah Bullard, Duke University
Ally Carey, Vanderbilt University
Kat Collins, Dartmouth University
Kitty Cullen, University of Florida
Brittany Dipper, University of Maryland
Jackie Doherty, University of Notre Dame
Corey Donohoe, University of North Carolina
Liz Downs, University of Virginia
Maggie Dunbar, Pennsylvania State University
Lauren Dykstra, Lehigh University
Bergan Foley, University of Louisville
Alex Frank, Northwestern University
Julie Gardner, University of Virginia
Grace Gavin, Loyola University, Maryland
Giulia Giordano, University of Pennsylvania
Grace Golden, William and Mary
Katie Hertsch, Hofstra University
Liz Hogan, Syracuse University
Mia Hurrin, University of North Carolina
Kristin Igoe, Boston College
Alison Jaeger, The College of New Jersey
Karri Ellen Johnson, University of Maryland
Sarah Jonson, William and Mary
Christie Kaestner, Duke University
Jordyn Kirr, Georgetown University
Tee Ladouceur, Syracuse University
Mary Kate Lomady, James Madison University
Logan McCraw, Georgetown University
Laura Merrifield, University of Maryland
Greta Meyer, Dartmouth University
Sarah Mollison, University of Maryland
Ashley Olen, C.W. Post
Claire Petersen, Adelphi University
Abby Rehfuss, Loyola University, Maryland
Lauren Schmidt, Stanford University
Katie Schwarzmann, University of Maryland
Shannon Smith, Northwestern University
Jessi Steinberg, Cornell University
Kat Thomas, Duke University
Taylor Thornton, Northwestern University
Erin Tochihara, Princeton University
Michelle Tumolo, Syracuse University
Laura Zimmerman, University of North Carolina

About The Tewaaraton Award

The Tewaaraton Award was formally established in August of 2000 with the inaugural presentation talking place at The University Club of Washington DC in June of 2001. Honoring the Native American heritage, the Tewaaraton Trophy symbolizes lacrosse's centuries-old roots in Native American history. Tradition dictates that each year the Tewaaraton Award celebrates one of the six tribal nations of the Iroquois Confederacy: the Mohawk, Cayuga, Oneida, Onondaga, Seneca, and the Tuscarora. Today, the Tewaaraton Award is recognized as the pre-eminent lacrosse award honoring the nation's top male and female collegiate lacrosse player for their extraordinary achievements on the field.

About Greater Washington Sports Alliance

Established in 2003, The Greater Washington Sports Alliance (GWSA) is a regional non-profit sports commission created to foster economic development and civic pride through the power of sports. The Sports Alliance's mission encompasses the attraction of sporting events to the region, the promotion of the regional professional, collegiate and amateur franchises, the support of youth investment organizations and the branding of Washington, D.C. as a world class sports destination. For more information please visit

comments powered by Disqus

More Headlines