October 4, 2010

Petracca, Delaney Named Carolina MVPS

from press release

CHAPEL HILL, N.C. — Senior attackman Gavin Petracca and senior midfielder Sean DeLaney were named Sunday as the co-winners of the Turnbull Trophy as the University of North Carolina men's lacrosse team's most valuable players for the 2010 season during the team's annual awards banquet at the Carolina Club in the George Watts Hill Alumni Center.

Petracca and DeLaney were among 10 individuals who received awards at the banquet where third-year Tar Heel head coach Joe Breschi served as master of ceremonies.

The Turnbull Trophy is the oldest award given at UNC for men's lacrosse, dating to 1970. It is awarded to the team's overall most valuable player. Coach Breschi presented the awards to Gavin Petracca (Manhasset, N.Y) and Sean DeLaney (Moorestown, N.J.). Petracca, a fifth-year senior in 2010, led the Tar Heels in scoring in 2010 with 48 points. He also led in assists with 23 and was tied for second on the team with 25 goals. He scored on 34.2 percent of his shots and led the Heels in game-winning goals with four. Despite missing four games with a shoulder injury in 2010, DeLaney, one of Carolina's 2010 co-captains, was the fourth-leading scorer for UNC and the leading scorer out of the midfield unit. He had 34 points on 25 goals (tied for second on the squad) and nineassists. He set a school record for extra-man goals in a season with 10.

Junior defenseman Ryan Flanagan (West Islip, N.Y.) andjunior forward Billy Bitter (Manhasset, N.Y.) won the squad's most outstanding defensive and offensive players, respectively. It is the second consecutive year that Flanagan has won the defensive award. Flanagan was the co-winner of the Schmeisser Cup as the National defenseman-of-the-year in 2010 and a first-team All-America selection. He started all 16 games in 2010 and led the Tar Heels in takeaways with 36 and was second in ground balls with 51. Billy Bitter, also a first-team All-America last season, won the most outstanding offensive player honor. He was Carolina's second-leading scorer last year despite being plagued by various injuries throughout the season. He finished second on the team with 44 points on 22 goals and 22 assists (also second on the team). He had 42 ground balls, the fourth highest total on the team.

Senior defenseman Michael Jarvis of Richmond, Va., won a pair of deserving honors. The 2010 team co-captain was presented with the Colonel Bob Needham Unsung Hero Award by assistant coach Brian Holman. The Needham honor is the second oldest award at UNC, dating to 1977. Jarvis also won the Ralph "Rip" Davy, III Memorial Award for outstanding senior leadership, the newest award at UNC in only its third year of existence. The Davy award honors the late captain of the 1979 team and first-team All-America defenseman, Rip Davy. Davy's widow, Margo, along with their sons Brooks and Will, presented the award to Jarvis. The senior defenseman started all 16 games last year and was second on the team in takeaways with 21.

Assistant coach Chris Feifs presented the Jay Gallagher Memorial Award to freshman attackman Marcus Holman of Baltimore, Md., as the outstanding newcomer on the 2010 UNC team. Holman was the 2010 ACC Freshman-of-the-Year and was Carolina's fifth-leading scorer last year with 31 points despite starting only eight games. Holman had 22 goals and nine assists as a rookie. He scored on 42.3 percent of his shots as a freshman.

The Holmes Harden, Sr., Memorial Award went to redshirt junior midfielder Michael Burns of Medford Lakes, N.J. The award honors the Tar Heel who earns the most ground balls in a season. Burns led last year's team with 60 ground balls. It is named in honor of the late Holmes Harden, Sr., who had three sons play at Carolina from 1984-93.

The Danny Fox Memorial Award for Service to Carolina Lacrosse was presented by Breschi to Spencer Welborn, the team's academic advisor. The award is named in honor of the late Danny Fox, one of the program's greatest benefactors who passed away suddenly in 2002 at a young age. It honors his service to the lacrosse program and had been awarded annually under a previous name since 1981.

The Class of 1986 Dan Andrews Award for Sportsmanship was presented to Stevie Kirkup, a freshman attackman from Severna Park, Md. Kirkup received the award from Breschi in recognition of his undying spirit and return to the lacrosse field this fall after having four major knee surgeries in the past two years. Kirkup took a redshirt year in 2009-10 when he had to undergo three of those surgeries in a span of just a few months.

The Kevin Reichardt Memorial Award goes to the team's most improved player and has been awarded annually since 1984. It was renamed for the late UNC midfielder Kevin Reichardt who tragically lost his life in 1995 while a sophomore at Carolina. This year's winner was sophomore attackman Thomas Wood of Richmond, Va. After producing eight points as a freshman in 2008, Wood improved his numbers dramatically in 2009, finishing as the team's third leading scorer with 43 points despite missing three games with a broken thumb. Wood led the Tar Heels with 30 goals and scored on an amazing 46.9 percent of his shots while ranking second in man-up goals with six.--

comments powered by Disqus

More Headlines