March 21, 2012

Tewaaraton Award Watch List Additions Announced

from press release

UMass attackman Will Manny was one of six players added to the Tewaaraton Award Watch Lists on Wednesday.
© Matt and John Risley

WASHINGTON – The Tewaaraton Foundation has announced the first round of additions to the Tewaaraton Award Watch Lists, presented by Panama Jack. Three men and three women have been added to the watch lists, from which the 12th annual Tewaaraton Award winners will be selected and honored May 31, 2012, at the Smithsonian Institution's National Museum of the American Indian in Washington, D.C.

The men's watch list features 76 players from 52 schools, including 2011 recipient Steele Stanwick (University of Virginia). Men's watch list additions are as follows:

Chris Bocklet, Attack – University of Virginia
Marcus Holman, Attack/Midfield – University of North Carolina
Will Manny, Attack – University of Massachusetts

Headlined by 2011 winner Shannon Smith (Northwestern University), the women's watch list includes 56 players from 34 schools. Women's watch list additions include:

Hannah Church, Attack – Gettysburg College
Kim Wenger, Midfield – Duke University
Demmianne Cook, Midfield – Stony Brook University

The original men's and women's watch lists were announced Feb. 15. More additions can be named by the selection committees before both lists are narrowed to a leading group of 25 Tewaaraton Award nominees in late April, with the five men's and women's finalists to be announced in mid-May. These finalists will be invited to the Tewaaraton Award Ceremony.

"The men's and women's selection committees continue to work diligently throughout the season to identify the top lacrosse players in the nation," said Jeff Harvey, chairman of the Tewaaraton Foundation. "We are proud to recognize these worthy additions to this year's watch lists and look forward to the remaining college lacrosse action this season."

For the full men's and women's Tewaaraton Award Watch Lists and to purchase tickets to the Tewaaraton Award Ceremony, please visit

About The Tewaaraton Foundation

First presented in 2001, the Tewaaraton Award is recognized as the pre-eminent lacrosse award, annually honoring the top male and female college lacrosse player in the United States. Endorsed by the Mohawk Nation Council of Elders and US Lacrosse, the Tewaaraton Award symbolizes

lacrosse's centuries-old roots in Native American heritage. The Tewaaraton Foundation ensures the integrity and advances the mission of this award. Each year, the Tewaaraton Award celebrates one of the six tribal nations of the Iroquois Confederacy – the Mohawk, Cayuga, Oneida, Onondaga, Seneca and Tuscarora – and presents two scholarships to students of Iroquois descent. To learn more about The Tewaaraton Foundation, please visit

comments powered by Disqus

More Headlines