April 4, 2012

Final Tewaaraton Watch List Additions Announced

Eric Lusby, a key figure in the offense of fourth-ranked Loyola, is among seven additions to the Tewaaraton Award Watch Lists.
© John Strohsacker/LaxPhotos.com

from press release

WASHINGTON – The Tewaaraton Foundation has announced the second and final round of additions to the Tewaaraton Award Watch Lists, presented by Panama Jack. Six men and one woman have been added to the watch lists, from which the 12th annual Tewaaraton Award winners will be selected and honored May 31, 2012, at the Smithsonian Institution's National Museum of the American Indian in Washington, D.C.

The men's watch list features 82 players from 54 schools, including 2011 recipient Steele Stanwick (University of Virginia). Men's watch list additions are as follows:

  • Scott Ratliff, Long Stick Midfield – Loyola University
  • Eric Lusby, Attack – Loyola University
  • James Kennedy, Attack – College of the Holy Cross
  • Will Mangan, Midfield – Rutgers University
  • Tucker Durkin, Defense – Johns Hopkins University
  • Jesse Bernhardt, Long Stick Midfield – University of Maryland

Headlined by 2011 winner Shannon Smith (Northwestern University), the women's watch list includes 57 players from 34 schools. The addition to the women's watch list is:

  • Mary Teeters, Goalie – Towson University

The original men's and women's watch lists were announced Feb. 15, with an initial round of additions made March 20.

Both lists will be narrowed to a leading group of 25 Tewaaraton Award nominees in late April, with the five men's and five women's finalists to be announced in mid-May. These finalists will be invited to the Tewaaraton Award Ceremony.

"The men's and women's selection committees continue to work diligently throughout the season to identify the top lacrosse players in the nation," said Jeff Harvey, chairman of the Tewaaraton Foundation. "We are proud to recognize these worthy additions to this year's watch lists and look forward to the remaining college lacrosse action this season."

For the full men's and women's Tewaaraton Award Watch Lists and to purchase tickets to the Tewaaraton Award Ceremony, please visit www.tewaaraton.com.

comments powered by Disqus

More Headlines