May 24, 2013

Pannell Wins USILA Player of the Year Honors

from staff reports

For the second time in his career, Cornell senior Rob Pannell has been named the USILA's Lt. Raymond J. Enners Award as the Outstanding Men's Lacrosse Player in Division I. He becomes the fifth two-time winner of the award and will lead the Big Red into the NCAA semifinals this weekend in Philadelphia, Pa.

Pannell joins a who's who of lacrosse greats to take home the trophy twice in a career — Larry Quinn, Johns Hopkins (1984, 1985); Gary Gait, Syracuse (1988, 1990); Casey Powell, Syracuse (1997, 1998); Matt Danowski, Duke (2007, 2008).

Pannell, a two-time Tewaaraton Trophy finalist, has been named a first-team All-American in each of his past three seasons after earning a third-team selection as a freshman in 2009. He joins Paul Schimoler '89, Ryan McClay '03 and Max Seibald '09 as the only Big Red men's lacrosse players to earn four All-American honors during his career. Earlier this season, he became the first-ever three-time Ivy League Player of the Year in men's lacrosse and just the fourth player in the history of Division I college lacrosse to be named conference player of the year three times during their career. He enters championship weekend with the NCAA career scoring lead within reach. He needs six points to match Danowski's record of 343 points and seven points to break the record.

In his final campaign on East Hill, Pannell has matched or exceeded his career season highs with 53 assists, 42 goals and 95 points, just 10 points off the school single-season record. He has registered at least one point in a school-record 71 straight contests and has registered at least three points in 25 consecutive games. Pannell has registered at least three assists in 12-of-17 contests this season, handing out a season-high six assists last weekend against Ohio State in the NCAA quarterfinals. Pannell was named Ivy League Player of the Week four times during the season. A three-year Cornell team captain, he has led his team to a 56-15 overall record (21-3 Ivy League), four Ivy League titles, three Final Four appearances and a spot in the 2009 national championship game.

Cornell has had six Enners Award winners, third all-time for most winners by one school. Johns Hopkins has produced 11 winners, while Syracuse has seven. A Big Red player has won the award three times in the last five years. Cornell's other winners are Mike French (1976), Eamon McEneaney (1977), Tim Goldstein (1987) and Max Seibald (2009).

The Lt. Raymond Enners Award has been given annually to the NCAA's most outstanding player in men's college lacrosse since 1969.

Princeton's Tom Schreiber took home the Lt. J.G. Donald MacLaughlin, Jr. Award as the Outstanding Midfielder, Albany's Lyle Thompson captured the Lt. Col. J.L. (Jack) Turnbull Award as Outstanding Attackman, Tucker Durkin of Johns Hopkins was awarded the William C. Schmeisser Award as Outstanding Defensive Player and Penn State's Austin Kaut was given the Ensign C. Markland Kelly, Jr. Award as Outstanding Goalie in Division I.

Outstanding Player of the Year: Lt. Raymond J. Enners Award
Rob Pannell, Cornell University

Outstanding Attackman: Lt. Col. J.L. (Jack) Turnbull Award
Lyle Thompson, University at Albany

Outstanding Midfielder: Lt. J.G. Donald MacLaughlin, Jr. Award
Tom Schreiber, Princeton University

Outstanding Defensive Player: William C. Schmeisser Award
Tucker Durkin, Johns Hopkins University

Outstanding Goalie: Ensign C. Markland Kelly, Jr. Award
Austin Kaut, Penn State University

comments powered by Disqus

More Headlines