January 23, 2014

Penn State Picked by CAA Coaches to Capture Title

from Press Release

RICHMOND, Va. (January 22, 2014) – Penn State, which captured its first Colonial Athletic Association men's lacrosse regular season title a year ago, has been picked to finish atop the conference standings and win the CAA regular season title again in 2014 according to a vote of the league's head lacrosse coaches.

The Nittany Lions received three first-place votes and finished atop the poll with 23 points. Penn State won the 2013 regular season title, but fell in tournament championship game to Towson by a score of 11-10. This spring, Penn State is ineligible for the conference tournament after a coaches decision in reaction to its impending departure in 2015 to the newly formed Big 10 Conference.

Towson, which captured the CAA Men's Lacrosse Championship for the first time since 2005, earned two first-place nods and was second with 21 points. Drexel followed in third place with one first-place vote and a total of 18 points, while Massachusetts earned fourth place with 12 points. Hofstra and Delaware rounded out the voting with 11 and five points, respectively.

The league will announce the preseason All-CAA selections on Friday, January 24th on CAASports.com.

The men's lacrosse season will begin Feb. 1, as the Blue Hens of Delaware welcome High Point to Newark for a 1:00 p.m. contest. Penn State and Towson will open their seasons on Feb. 8, while the Minutemen of UMass will follow on Feb. 9. Drexel and Hofstra will finally kick-off their 2014 schedule on Feb. 15.

The CAA Men's Lacrosse Championship is slated to get underway Wednesday, April 30th with semifinal action and the title contest is slated for Saturday, May 3rd. This year the Wednesday semifinals will be played at the two highest seeds and the Saturday championship game will be played at the highest remaining seed.

2014 CAA Men's Lacrosse Coaches' Preseason Predicted Order of Finish

First place votes in parenthesis

1 Penn State  23(3)
2 Towson 21(2)
3 Drexel 18(1)
4 Massachusetts 12
5 Hofstra 11
6 Delaware 5

comments powered by Disqus

More Headlines