April 30, 2014

Geisler, Lomas Headline Atlantic Sun Men's Honors

from Press Release

MACON, Ga. - High Point's Dan Lomas and Austin Geisler garnered 2014 Atlantic Sun Offensive and Defensive Player of the Year, announced by the league office Wednesday. Richmond's Mitch Goldberg was voted Freshman of the Year, while Mercer Head Coach Kyle Hannan collected the Coach of the Year award.

Lomas led the league with 35 goals this season, while averaging 3.00 points per game. Scored a goal in every game this year, and currently holds a 23-game point streak dating back to last season. Had 11 multi-goal games, including five goals in man-up situations and two game-winning goals.

Joining Lomas on the All-Atlantic Sun First Team were four High Point teammates. Face-off specialist Jamie Piluso was a unanimous selection, after leading the league in face-off percentage. Matt Thistle led the league in assists and is a first team selection. Junior defender Pat Farrell started every game and caused 16 turnovers this season.

Goalie Austin Geisler was named the Defensive Player of the Year and a first team selection. Geisler won six Defensive Player of the Week awards this season. He leads the league in save percentage (59.6%), saves per game (13.79) and goals against average at 9.43. Finished the regular season with a career-high 20 saves against No. 16 Drexel.

Richmond and VMI both had two players selected to the All-Atlantic Sun First Team. For the Spiders it is midfielder Mitch Goldberg, the Freshman of the Year, and long-stick specialist Jackson Cabot. VMI's Senior Mickey Hofmeister led the Keydets with 30 goals this season, while defender Tyler Prasnicki caused 33 turnovers. He ranks tied for fourth in the nation in that category.

Cole Branch of Mercer and Kenny Meinsen of Furman round out the All-Atlantic Sun First Team. Branch collected 26 points, including 14 during conference play. Meinsen led the Paladins with 22 goals in their inaugural season.

The All-Atlantic Sun Second Team is comprised of five players from Mercer, including goalie Mike Nugent, attackers Zack Ward and Chris Baxa, midfielder Timmy Geran and defender Colin Massa. Ward and Baxa combined for 54 goals, most for any duo in the league. Three players from High Point were voted to the second team, including midfielders Brad James and Bucky Smith and defender Garrett Swaim. The specialists come from Furman and Jacksonville. Hil Blaze, the Paladins face-off specialist, was voted to the All-Atlantic Sun Second Team, along with long-stick Tyler Black from Jacksonville. Black led the Dolphins with 40 ground balls this season.

Rounding out the second team are three Richmond players. Attacker Brad Burnam was joined by teammates Ryan Dennis and Brendan Hynes. Hynes is tied for the league lead in caused turnovers at 2.36 per game. Dennis collected 40 ground balls and caused 26 turnovers.

The All-Freshman team features multiple selections from first year programs Furman and Richmond. The Spiders garnered five selections with Mitch Goldberg and Brendan Hynes being multiple All-Conference selections. Midfielder Jean-Luc Chetner, attackers J.P. Forester and Dan Ginestro also were voted on the All-Freshman squad.

For the Paladins face-off specialist Hil Blaze was the only player selected to multiple All-Conference teams. He is joined by attackers Zack Coker and Graham Dabbs, and midfielder Scott Primeau. Dabbs collected 31 points this season, while Coker added 19 points to the Paladin attack. Michael LeClair of High Point, one of five unanimous selections to the All-Freshman team, finished the season with 12 goals and 21 points. Mercer defender Colin Massa and VMI's midfielder Dale Mattice complete the All-Freshman team selections. Massa anchored the second best defense in the league as the Bears only allowed 10.56 goals per game.

Mercer Head Coach Kyle Hannan is the A-Sun Coach of the Year after leading the Bears to a share of the A-Sun regular season title and the No. 1 seed in the inaugural A-Sun Championship. The Bears went 4-1 in conference play, and set a new program-record with seven total wins. Mercer clinched a berth to the Championship with a dramatic 9-8 victory over Furman in the final regular season home game.

Atlantic Sun All-Academic

MACON, Ga. – The Atlantic Sun Conference honored High Point's Tyler Cook as the 2014 Atlantic Sun Conference Men's Lacrosse Scholar-Athlete of the Year to highlight the league's Academic All-Conference team.

Cook, a Psychology major, garnered a 4.00 GPA while playing in all 13 games for the Panthers this season. He helped High Point to a share of the inaugural A-Sun Regular Season title with 10 goals and adding two assists. He has been a two-time Millis Scholar-Athlete and has volunteered with several campaigns in the community.

The A-Sun introduced the new sport-by-sport Academic All-Conference teams in the 2011-12 academic year to recognize student-athletes who embody the conference's mission of Building Winners for Life. All the members of the team boast a 3.30 cumulative grade point average (GPA) or better and participated in at least half of their team's games.

Tyler Cook, High Point
Sophomore | GPA: 4.00 | Major: Psychology | Hometown: Warrenville, Ill.
• Helped the Panthers to share of A-Sun Regular Season Title
• Scored 10 goals while adding two assists this season
• Two-time Millis Scholar-Athlete
• Scored career-high four points in game against Mercer

* Clay Adams, Furman (Sophomore | GPA: 3.41 | Health Science & Accounting)
* Ralph D'Agostino, Furman (Sophomore | GPA: 3.75| Economics)
* Ray Banister, Jacksonville (Sophomore | GPA: 3.75 | Marine Science)
* Pete DeLuca, Jacksonville (Senior | GPA: 3.47 | Biology)
* Quint Miller, Jacksonville (Junior | GPA: 3.50 | Marketing)
* Rory Dillon, VMI (Senior | GPA: 3.76 | International Studies)
* Pat Hine, VMI (Sophomore | GPA: 3.59 | Economics & Business)
Rob Wertz, Jacksonville (Junior | GPA: 3.40 | Mathematics)
JT Del Tufo, Mercer (Sophomore | GPA: 3.51 | Undeclared)
Tyler Prasnicki, VMI (Junior | GPA: 3.36 | Economics & Business)
Domenick Stumpo, VMI (Sophomore | GPA: 3.56 | Biology)
* Unanimous Selection

comments powered by Disqus

More Headlines