May 29, 2014

Video: Thompsons, Cummings Announced as Tewaaraton Winners

via Tewaaraton Foundation | | Twitter

History was made on Thursday evening, as Miles and Lyle Thompson became the first co-winners in the 14-year history of the Tewaaraton Award and Taylor Cummings became the first sophomore in her women's win.

The Thompson's, who played together on the same attack line at Albany along with cousin Ty, are the first Native American winners of the Tewaaraton, which is the Mohawk language term for the game. Lyle was a finalist a year ago and will return to Albany for his senior year in 2015. Miles will return as well, but as a volunteer assistant rather than a player.

All-around excellence helped Cummings earn Maryland its third straight Tewaaraton and fourth in the past five seasons. The do-everything midfielder also earned an NCAA title with the Terrapins this spring.

Watch the announcement of the award below, courtesy of the Tewaaraton Foundatioin.

comments powered by Disqus

More Headlines