December 11, 2013

NCAA Championships Return to Philadelphia in 2015-16

by Lane Errington | | Twitter

updated 12.12.2013 at 11.14 a.m.

The 2015 and 2016 men's and women's NCAA championships will be held in Philadelphia, the NCAA announced Wednesday. The men's final four returns to Lincoln Financial Field, host of the 2013 final four, while the women's tournament will take place at PPL Park in nearby Chester, Pa.

The NCAA made the announcement as part of a new-look selection process in which it awarded 523 sites as hosts for 82 of its 89 championships for the 2014-18 seasons. On the men's side, Lincoln Financial Field, Chicago's Soldier Field, and Gillete Stadium in Foxboro, Mass., were named finalists for the four-year cycle in October. PPL Park, WakeMed Soccer Park in Cary, N.C., and Toyota Park in Bridgeview, Ill., are finalists to host the Division I and III women's championships. Championship sites for 2017 and 2018 have yet to be announced.

“We are proud to be hosting the 2015 and 2016 NCAA Men’s Lacrosse Championships at Lincoln Financial Field,” Eagles President Don Smolenski said in a press release. “We’ve had the pleasure of hosting this event three times in the past, including last year’s thrilling finish between Duke, Syracuse, Cornell and Denver. We’re looking forward to working with our partners Drexel and the Philadelphia Sports Congress and we are thankful to the NCAA for the opportunity to once again showcase our great city to lacrosse fans from around the country.”

The 2015 men's quarterfinals will take place at Navy-Marine Corps Memorial Stadium in Annapolis, Md., and Sports Authority Field at Mile High in Denver, Colo.

"It's the continued momentum of what's been going on here for while," Mac Freeman, senior vice president of business development for the Denver Broncos and president of MLL's Denver Outlaws, said Thursday. "It's been great to watch and be a part of what's happened out here in the west with lacrosse, and particularly in Denver. The passion and the spirit of the lacrosse community out here is phenomenal. It's been building for the last decade, really."

Quarterfinal sites for 2016 are Brown Stadium in Providence, R.I., and Jesse Owens Memorial Stadium in Columbus, Ohio.

The 2014 NCAA men's championship is set for M&T Bank Field in Baltimore, Md., with the women's final four slated for Johnny Unitas Stadium in Towson, Md.

View the announcements here:

Video has no source UrlVideo has no source Url

comments powered by Disqus

More Headlines