December 8, 2009

Jack Kaley Named USILA Man of the Year

from press release

The United States Intercollegiate Lacrosse Association (USILA) has named former New York Institute of Technology (NYIT) head lacrosse coach Jack Kaley as the Howdy Meyers Man of the Year.  For more than 17 seasons at NYIT, Kaley established the Bears as one of the best and most respected programs in the nation. Under his guidance, NYIT appeared in the NCAA tournament seven times and captured national championships in 1997, 2003, 2005, and 2008. Kaley will be presented with the award on Friday, Dec. 11 at the Intercollegiate Men’s Lacrosse Coaches Association (IMLCA) Nike Awards Luncheon at the Marriot Baltimore Waterfront Hotel.

“I am extremely honored to receive this prestigious award, especially because I played for Howdy Meyers at Hofstra University,” said Kaley. “I am so proud to receive this award not only for myself, but for Division II lacrosse as well. Knowing that the head coaches from Division I, Division II, and Division III institutions all vote on the Howdy Meyers Man of the Year award makes this recognition that much greater.”

Kaley was named the Division II United States Intercollegiate Lacrosse Association (USILA) Coach of the Year in 1996 and in 1997, when he guided the NYIT Bears to their first Division II National Championship, and in 2002 and 2008—making him the only coach to earn USILA Coach of the Year honors four times. He has compiled a career coaching record of 501-201, served as an assistant coach on the U.S. National Lacrosse Team.  At NYIT, Kaley had a record of 185-33, 58-16 in conference play (the highest career winning percentage in NCAA Division I and II lacrosse history), and he coached 87 USILA All-Americans.

The USILA award is named for Howdy Meyers, who coached 17 championship teams at St. Paul's University, Johns Hopkins University, and Hofstra University and was elected into the Lacrosse Hall of Fame in 1971. Past Howdy Meyers award winners have been recognized for contributing greatly to the game of lacrosse and in so doing, have shown unselfish and untiring devotion to the game.  The Man of the Year Award has been in existence since 1944.

comments powered by Disqus

More Headlines