April 9, 2011

Loewen, Limestone Bounce Pfeiffer

from press release

– Top-ranked Limestone captured the 2011 Conference Carolinas regular season championship with a 9-4 victory at Conference Carolinas and South Region rival Pfeiffer on Saturday, April 9. Sophomore attack Riley Loewen (Burnaby, British Columbia) scored three goals and junior attack Shayne Jackson (Bowmanville, Ontario) added a pair while junior goalie Steve Gartelman (Seaford, N.Y) stopped 11 of the 15 Falcons shots on goal to lead the way.

The win moved Limestone to 12-0 overall, 5-0 in the Conference and 11-0 in South Region action while also securing the No.1 seed for the Conference Carolinas Men's Lacrosse Tournament. Pfeiffer dropped to 9-4, 2-2 CC and 7-3 SR.

With only five shots all on goal combined on the day, Loewen and Jackson made the most of their opportunities, including special teams. Loewen had a key man-up score and Jackson a man-down goal. They were two of the six Limestone players that scored a goal while 11 in all tallied at least a point.

Loewen and Jackson were also two of the five Saints that had multiple point outings. Sophomore attack Tyler Baker (Peterborough, Ontario) had a goal and an assist while senior midfielder Josh Williams (Davidsonville, Md.) and junior midfielder Mason Mundell (Severna Park, Md.) had a pair of assists.

Senior midfielder Thomas Langan (Potomac, Md.), senior defenseman Ken Kerr (Pasadena, Md.) along with junior midfielder Desi Gonzalez (Massapequa, N.Y.) had one goal each while three other midfielders added one assist each those were sophomore Tor Rheinholdt (Port Moody, British Columbia), junior Jackson Decker (Port Moody, British Columbia) and senior Sam Buppert (Eldersburg, Md.), who added three caused turnovers and four ground balls to his performance.

Limestone's defense not only held the nations No.6 offensive attack scoreless in seven man-up situations but for the game held the Falcons' top two scoring leaders on the season without a point.

As noted earlier Limestone will be the top-seed of the Conference Carolinas Men's Lacrosse Tournament and will play in the 3 p.m., semifinal on Friday, April 15 at the Queens Sports Complex at Marion Diehl Park in Charlotte, N.C. Please click here for the additional tournament information.

The 2011 season is the 22nd year of competition for the Limestone men's lacrosse team which currently sports an all-time record of 220-85. The Saints hold an all-time scoring advantage against their foes of 4,378-2,561. The Saints have advanced to the NCAA Men's Division II Tournament each of the previous 11 seasons reaching the title game six consecutive years from 2000-'05 winning championships 2000 and 2002.

comments powered by Disqus

More Headlines