April 17, 2011

Limestone Men Win CC Title, Decker MVP

from press release

 – Junior goalie Steve Gartelman (Seaford, N.Y.) made six of his season high 14 saves in the fourth quarter, one in which the Saints blanked No.11 Pfeiffer 4-0, in route to a 10-5 victory over the Falcons to capture the 2011 Conference Carolinas Tournament Championship on Sunday, April 17 at the Queens Sports Complex in Charlotte, N.C.

Limestone (14-0, 5-0 CC, 13-0 SR) and first year head coach J.B. Clarke, captured a Conference Tournament Championship for the third straight season and for a 12th time in the last 13 years.

Senior midfielder Thomas Langan (Potomac, Md.), scored the second of his three goals at the 8:26 mark of the third period breaking a 5-5 tie and Limestone would never be equaled.

Meanwhile, Gartelman yielded only one goal in the second half turning away eight shots in the process to earn his 14th win of the season.

Juniors Jackson Decker (Port Moody, British Columbia) and Shayne Jackson (Bowmanville, Ontario) each scored two goals with as many assists and totaled nine points apiece in the two games. Decker, who totaled three goals and six assists was named the Most Valuable Player of the 2011 Conference Carolinas Men's Lacrosse Championships while Jackson, who finished with five goals and four assists, earned All-Tournament honors.

In addition, Jackson enjoyed a record breaking day on Sunday. His assist on Decker's first goal at the 10:26 of the second quarter, his second of the day, was his 44th of the campaign breaking the Limestone single season record of 43 assists established by Gavin Higgins in 1997.

Sophomore attack Riley Loewen (Burnaby, British Columbia) scored on goal on Sunday finishing with five in two games to earn All-Tournament accolades. Junior Midfielder Desi Gonzalez (Massapequa, N.Y.) and fellow midfielder Joshua Williams (Davidsonville, Md.), a sophomore, both had one goal each.

Attack Jeff Santo (Timonium, Md.) and midfielder Sam Buppert (Eldersburg, Md.), each had one assist.

Senior defenseman Spencer Wims (Waltham, Mass.), who earned All-Tournament honors, was the key to a stifling unit that yielded only one Pfeiffer (10-5, 2-2 CC, 7-4 SR) goal over the final 19:34 of the game.

Limestone returns to action to on Saturday, April 23 with a non-region neutral site showdown against fourth-ranked Mercyhurst (8-2) of the East Coast Conference to be played in Alexandria, Va., where the opening face-off set for 1 p.m. Limestone tops the NCAA Division II South Region while the Lakers are No.2 in the Central Region.

The 2011 season is the 22nd year of competition for the Limestone men's lacrosse team which currently sports an all-time record of 222-85. The Saints hold an all-time scoring advantage against their foes of 4,403-2,575. The Saints have advanced to the NCAA Men's Division II Tournament each of the previous 11 seasons reaching the title game six consecutive years from 2000-'05 winning championships 2000 and 2002.

comments powered by Disqus

More Headlines