December 14, 2011

Limestone Names Captains for 2012 Season

from press release

GAFFNEY, S.C. -- Limestone College head men's lacrosse coach J.B. Clarke has announced the Saints team captains for the 2012 season. Jackson Decker (Port Moody, British Columbia), Steve Gartelman (Seaford, N.Y.) and Randy Waugh (Severna Park, Md.), a trio of seniors, have earned the distinguished honor of leadership for the upcoming season.

"The three men elected by their teammates are tremendous choices to lead this team throughout the 2012 season" said head coach J.B. Clarke. "Last year's team was a senior laden team with strong leaders and often times the next class struggles to find its own leaders. The 2012 team had no problem selecting its leaders".

Decker, a midfielder, is a three year letter winner who last season played in all 17 games and earned USILA First-Team All-American, ALL-Conference Carolinas First Team and Conference Carolinas Tournament Most Valuable Player honors.

He was second on the team with 23 goals while adding 17 assists, 13 ground balls and five caused turnovers. In his career at Limestone, he has averaged 1.6 points and totaled 66 points on 39 goals and 27 assists while earning 32 groundballs.

Gartelman returns for his third season between the pipes as the Saints' goalie after posting a 27-3 (.900) overall record along the way. Last season he finished with a 6.57 goals against average and 15-2 record in 831 minutes of action.

Waugh, a midfielder, has 43 career points in as many games and has tallied 24 goals and 19 assists while muscling his way to 41 groundballs.

"Randy, Steve and Jackson have all played key roles in the success of the teams the last couple of years" added Clarke. "They are extremely hard workers who simply set the bar for hard work, dedication, loyalty and effort so high by the way they practice that their peers try to match them. Great leaders are the ones who get people to follow their example. The Saints will follow their lead".

Limestone will open its 2012 season on Sunday, February 12 hosting Rollins at noon. That will mark the first of six consecutive contests at "The Rock" to begin the new campaign.

The 2012 season will be the 23rd year of competition for the Limestone men's lacrosse team which currently sports an all-time record of 222-87. The Saints hold an all-time scoring advantage against their foes of 4,436-2,615.

The Saints have now advanced to the NCAA Men's Division II Tournament in each of the previous 12 seasons, reaching the title game six consecutive years from 2000-05 and winning championships in 2000 and 2002.

comments powered by Disqus

More Headlines