April 20, 2013

Loewen Named Conference Carolinas POY

from press release

HIGH POINT, N.C. – An undefeated league season, 13-1 overall record and No. 2 national ranking was rewarded with nine All-Conference Carolinas selections and Player of the Year for senior attack Riley Loewen (Burnaby, British Columbia, Canada) as announced by the league on the morning of Saturday, April 20.

Loewen earns his second career Conference Carolinas Player of the Year honor and his first outright. He shared the award in 2011 with Shayne Jackson and this year's award represents four straight years that Limestone has had the league's top player.

On the season Loewen leads the Saints in goals (43), assists (27) and points (70).He is second in the league in both points and goals and ranks third in the country in points and fifth in goals per game. His efforts have led Limestone to a No. 2 overall ranking and the second best win percentage in the nation.

Four teammates join him on the First-Team including senior midfielder Zach Cummings (Crownsville, Md.), senior midfielder Tor Reinholdt (Port Moody, British Columbia, Canada), senior face-off specialist Jake Ternosky (LaFayette, N.Y.) and junior defenseman Glenn Trovato (Smithtown, N.Y.).

Cummings has been source of offense with 27 goals, good for second on the team, and nine assists and 36 points while Reinholdt has started all 14 games and has 14 goals, 19 assists, 33 points, 24 groundballs and eight caused turnovers.

Ternosky, the 2012 Conference Carolinas Player of the Year, has been no less dominant this season with a .651 (181-of-278) face-off percentage and team-high 88 groundballs to go along with a pair of goals and three assists. Trovato has been a stalwart on defense, starting all 14 games and producing a team-leading 12 caused turnovers to go along with 20 groundballs.

Earning Second-Team honors this year were senior attack Corey Rich (Sacramento, Calif.), freshman midfielder Reid Reinholdt (Port Moody, British Columbia, Canada), freshman defenseman Jake Wojtowicz (Milltown, N.J.) and senior goalkeeper Christian Dzwilewski (Cold Spring Harbor, N.Y.).

Rich has provided some offensive pop with 26 goals, 19 assists and 45 points but has also delivered 29 groundballs. The latter is something Reid Reinholdt, the younger brother of Tor, is very familiar with as he has 46 on the season, second to only Ternosky. He also has nine goals and 14 assists for 23 points in his first year of collegiate action.

Wojtowicz is one of the defenders that has made life much easier in goal for Dzwilewski as he has 22 groundballs and six caused turnovers on the year. After transferring from Providence, Dzwilewski earns Second-Team honors in his first year at "The Rock". This year all he has done is go 10-1 with a league-leading 8.17 goals against average and post a save percentage of .584 in 11 games that also leads the conference.

With his selection to the First-Team, Loewen has now been All-Conference all four years, earning First-Team honors in each of the last three seasons. Joining him with multiple All-Conference selections are Ternosky and Tor Reinholdt, both of whom have made First-Team each of the last two years, and Rich with a pair of Second-Team nods in his two years with the Saints. Cummings, Trovato, Reid Reinholdt, Wojtowicz and Dzwileski are all first time selections with three of those five in their first year at Limestone.

Limestone advanced to its seventh straight Conference Carolinas Tournament Championship Game with a 15-11 win over Belmont Abbey on Friday, April 19. They will be seeking their sixth championship when they take on rival No. 11 Pfeiffer at approximately 4 p.m. on "Championship Sunday", April 21 at Williams Stadium in Burlington, N.C.

2013 Conference Carolinas Men's Lacrosse Regular Season Awards

Player of the Year
Riley Loewen, Limestone

Freshman of the Year
Connor Sellars, Belmont Abbey

Defender of the Year
Jeff Konko, Pfeiffer

Coach of the Year
Michael Murphy, Mount Olive

First Team
Riley Loewen, Limestone
Dan Shields, Mount Olive
James Shepard, Pfeiffer
Dan Marshall, Belmont Abbey

Steven Tilmon, Pfeiffer
Zach Cummings, Limestone
Kory Lutes, Pfeiffer
Tor Reinholdt, Limestone

Long Pole Midfield
Michael Triolo, Pfeiffer
Connor Doyle, Belmont Abbey

Jake Ternosky, Limestone

Jeff Konko, Pfeiffer
Patrick Murphy, Queens
Glenn Trovato, Limestone

Hayden Kirk, Pfeiffer

Second Team
Corey Rich, Limestone
Connor Sellars, Belmont Abbey
Garrett Chan, Queens

Dan Morrissey, Belmont Abbey
Jake Duarte, Mount Olive
Keith LeClair, Coker
Reid Reinholdt, Limestone

Khalid Stukes, Pfeiffer
Zac Clark, Pfeiffer

Sean Shewey, Mount Olive
Dillon Draper, Queens
Devin Cruz, Belmont Abbey
Jake Wojtowicz, Limestone

Christian Dzwilewski, Limestone
Ryan Harrison, Lees-McRae

comments powered by Disqus

More Headlines