May 1, 2013

Lake Erie's Bal Leads ECAC Div. II Award Winners

from press release

CENTERVILLE, Mass. - Eastern College Athletic Conference Interim Commissioner Steve Bamford announced today the ECAC Division II Lacrosse All-Conference teams for the 2013 season. In a vote conducted by league coaches, regular-season champion Mercyhurst University had 8 players named to the teams, headlined by Defensive Player of the Year junior Andrew Wagner and Specialist of the Year junior Mitch McAvoy. Lake Erie's Keegan Bal and Chris Isle of Seton Hill were named Offensive Player and Goalie of the Year, respecively. Bal's coach of Lake Erie College, Greg Stocks was voted Coach of the Year.

Bal (Coquitlam, British Columbia/Centennial Secondary) was named Offensive Player of the Year and was a major factor in Lake Erie's top three finish in the standings. Bal ended the regular season with 43 goals and 31 assists for 74 points and in conference play had 23 goals and 19 assists. The senior attack led the league in points and was third in scoring goals. He became the first player in school history to total 50 points in a season and was named ECAC Offensive Player of the Week three times this year.

Wagner (Elma, N.Y./Iroquis) was voted Defensive Player of the Year after helping the Lakers remain undefeated throughout the regular season and clinch a number one seed in the conference tournament. Wagner and the rest of the Lakers defensive corps held their opponents to only 99 goals and led the league with a 7.07 goals against average, good for fifth in the nation.

McAvoy (Sherwood Park, Alberta/The Hill Academy) earned Specialist of the Year honors after a great year in the faceoff X with 124 faceoff wins out of 215 chances, good for 57.6%. He was third in the league for faceoffs. On the season, he had 64 ground balls. He also had a hand in the Lakers' defense that he anchored with Wagner. He was named Specialist of the Week three times this season.

Isle (Vestal, N.Y./Vestal) of Seton Hill got the Goalie of the Year nod after leading the league with 12-2 record and 154 saves. He had a league-best 64.2 save percentage and 6.98 goals against average. The senior helped the Griffins earn the number two seed in the ECAC tournament this weekend.

Fellow Griffin freshman Josh Albo (Gambrilis, Md./Arundel) was voted Rookie of the Year. With Albo's assistance, Seton Hill only allowed a 7.50 goals against average, good for third in the league, and opponents only scored 105 goals against them.

Stocks was named Coach of the Year and led the Storm to their best regular season to date with an overall record of 11-3 and an ECAC conference record of 5-2. In the USILA poll, Lake Erie is currently 10th in Division II and fifth in the NCAA Division II South Regional poll. They are the three seed in the conference tournament this year and they will face two seed Seton Hill on Friday at 2:00 P.M.

2013 ECAC Division II All-Conference Team

First Team

Matt Delmonico, Jr., Seton Hill
Keegan Bal, Sr., Lake Erie
Brian Scheetz, Sr., Mercyhurst
James Delaney, Jr., Seton Hill
Zac Reid, Sr., Mercyhurst
Reagan Harding, Jr., Lake Erie
Longstick Midfielder*
Graeme Hossack, So., Lindenwood
Ryan Sullivan, Jr., Mercyhurst
Matt Maccario, Sr., Wheeling Jesuit
Andrew Wagner, Jr., Mercyhurst
Justin Goodwin, So., Lake Erie
Mitch McAvoy, Jr., Mercyhurst
Chris Ilse, Sr., Seton Hill

Second Team

Taylor Mansfield, Sr., Seton Hill
Trevor Tarte, Jr., Lake Erie
Brian Frank, Jr., Wheeling Jesuit
James Chayka, Sr., Mercyhurst
Tyler Buchan, So., Wheeling Jesuit
Josh Becker, Sr., Lake Erie
Patrick Maloney, Jr., Mercyhurst
Mike Meagher, Sr., Lindenwood
Josh Albo, Fr., Seton Hill
Bill Desiderio, Sr., Lake Erie
Michael Grace, Jr., Mercyhurst

Offensive Player of the Year: Keegan Bal, Lake Erie
Defensive Player of the Year: Andrew Wagner, Mercyhurst
Specialist of the Year: Mitch McAvoy, Mercyhurst
Goalie of the Year: Chris Isle, Seton Hill
Rookie of the Year: Josh Albo, Seton Hill
Coach of the Year: Greg Stocks, Lake Erie

comments powered by Disqus

More Headlines