May 1, 2014

ECAC Announces Division II Award Winners

from press release

CENTERVILLE, Mass. – The Eastern College Athletic Conference (ECAC) Division II Lacrosse League announced its major award winners and All-Conference teams today. Five different ECAC Division II Lacrosse institutions were honored with the major awards and a league-leading eight student-athletes from Mercyhurst University were named to the All-ECAC teams. The voting was completed by the ECAC Division II Lacrosse League head coaches.

Lake Erie College junior midfielder Reagan Harding (Saskatoon, Saskatchewan) was selected as the 2014 ECAC Division II Lacrosse Offensive Player of the Year, becoming the second consecutive Lake Erie student-athlete to receive the award. Harding helped the No. 14 nationally ranked Storm to an 8-4 record this season and a program-best 6-2 conference record, earning the No. 2 seed in the conference tournament. Harding leads Lake Erie with 43 points on 30 goals and 13 assists. He currently leads the conference with 119 shots and is fourth in goals and points. Harding was also named to the All-ECAC First Team in 2013.

For the second consecutive year, Mercyhurst senior Andrew Wagner (Elma, N.Y.) was chosen as the ECAC Division II Lacrosse Defensive Player of the Year. Wagner started all 14 games for the Lakers during the 2014 season, scooping up 20 ground balls and causing 12 turnovers. Wagner headlines a Mercyhurst defense that posted the conference's lowest goals against average (5.59) and a league-best 12-2 overall record. The No. 4 Lakers lead the nation with the best scoring defense averaging 5.57 goals per game and have recorded 12.43 turnovers per game, the fewest in Division II this season.

Senior goalkeeper Michael Grace (Warwick, N.Y.) from Mercyhurst was tabbed as the 2014 ECAC Division II Lacrosse Goalkeeper of the Year as he led the Lakers to their second straight No. 1 seed in the ECAC tournament. Grace recorded a 5.37 goals against average, .586 save percentage and made 78 saves in 13 games played this season. He ranks first in the conference in both goals against average and save percentage. Nationally, he leads all Division II lacrosse goalkeepers with his goals against average and is ranked No. 8 in save percentage. Grace was previously named to the All-ECAC Second Team in 2013.

Lindenwood University junior longstick midfielder Graeme Hossack (Port Perry, Ontario) was named the 2014 ECAC Division II Lacrosse Specialist of the Year. Hossack recorded a league-leading 90 ground balls and 41 caused turnovers this season. Offensively, he recorded eight points on two goals and six assists. He leads the nation with 3.45 caused turnovers per game and is tied for fifth in ground balls per game with 7.45. On April 26, in a Lindenwood victory against Alderson Broaddus, Hossack recorded a game-high of 15 ground balls. Hossack earned ECAC Specialist of the Week honors twice in 2014 and it is his second time on the All-ECAC First Team.

Seton Hill University freshman Zack Rusch (Pittsburgh, Pa.) and Lake Erie freshman Austin Bishop (Hamburg, N.Y.) were selected as the 2014 ECAC Division II Lacrosse Co-Rookies of the Year. In his first year for the Griffins, Rusch appeared in all 13 of Seton Hill's regular season games, where he notched 17 points (10 goals, 7 assists). The Griffins went 9-5 on the year and are the No. 4 seed in the conference tournament. Bishop netted 21 goals and dished out 11 assists in his first season in a Lake Erie uniform. Bishop currently leads all freshmen in the conference with goals, assists and points. He was named the ECAC Rookie of the Week three times this season.

Kevin Dugan, in his first year at the helm of the Wheeling Jesuit University Cardinals, was selected by his peers as the 2014 ECAC Division II Lacrosse Coach of the Year. Dugan led the nationally ranked No. 12 Cardinals to their best start in program history at 6-0, and finished the regular season at 10-2. In conference play, Wheeling Jesuit finished the regular season at 5-2 and earned the No. 3 seed in the conference tournament. Wheeling Jesuit had one of its biggest wins in program history on April 12, when the Cardinals knocked off Seton Hill, ranked No. 8 at the time, by a score of 18-12. The Cardinals are tied for first in the conference with 13.17 goals scored per game.

2014 ECAC Division II Lacrosse Major Award Winners

Offensive Player of the Year: Reagan Harding, Sr., A, Lake Erie College
Defensive Player of the Year
: Andrew Wagner, Sr., D, Mercyhurst University
Specialist of the Year
: Graeme Hossack, Jr., LSM, Lindenwood University
Goalkeeper of the Year
: Michael Grace, Sr., GK, Mercyhurst University
Co-Rookies of the Year
: Zack Rusch, Fr., A, Seton Hill University; Austin Bishop, Fr., A, Lake Erie College
Coach of the Year
: Kevin Dugan, Wheeling Jesuit University

2014 All-ECAC Teams

First Team

Attack *
Matt Delmonico, Jr. Seton Hill University
Brady Heseltine, Sr., Mercyhurst University
Jake McAndrew, Sr., Mercyhurst University
Trevor Tarte, Sr., Lake Erie College

Reagan Harding, Jr., Lake Erie College
Bryce Brochu, So., Wheeling Jesuit University
Dylan Gelven, Seton Hill University

Andrew Wagner, Sr., Mercyhurst University
Patrick Maloney, Sr., Mercyhurst University
Justin Goodwin, Jr., Lake Erie College

Longstick Midfield
Graeme Hossack, Jr., Lindenwood University

Rashad Brown, Sr., Lake Erie College

Michael Grace, Sr., Mercyhurst University

Second Team

Brian Frank, Sr., Wheeling Jesuit University
Dylan Lefebvre, Sr., Seton Hill University

Trevor Vargo, Jr., Mercyhurst University
Macgregor Johnston, Sr., Lake Erie College
Tyler Johnson, Sr., Wheeling Jesuit University

Josh Albo, So., Seton Hill University
Corey Luebbe, Jr., Wheeling Jesuit University
Adam Bakular, Sr., Lake Erie College

Longstick Midfield
Ryan Sullivan, Sr., Mercyhurst University

Mitch McAvoy, Sr., Mercyhurst University

Joe Amsler, Sr., Wheeling Jesuit University

ECAC All-Rookie Team

Austin Bishop, Lake Erie College
Nicholas Castorf, Walsh University
Keir Yonge, Alderson Broaddus University

Zack Rusch, Seton Hill University
Alex Hudgens, Walsh University
Adam Dickson, Ohio Valley University

Jack Brandenburg, Wheeling Jesuit University
Connor Laird, Lindenwood University
Mark Guzik, Walsh University

Longstick Midfield
John Slavin, Walsh University

Alex Makowicki, Walsh University

Dylan Ciolino, Walsh University

*-Denotes Additional Players Added Due to Ties in Voting

comments powered by Disqus

More Headlines