May 2, 2014

Adelphi's Tuttle Leads Northeast-10 Accolades

from press release

SOUTH EASTON, Mass. – Adelphi University sophomore Salvatore Tuttle has been honored as the 2014 Northeast-10 Conference Men's Lacrosse Player of the Year, as voted upon by the league's head coaches, it was announced on Thursday.

Tuttle (pictured), last year's Northeast-10 Rookie of the Year, has helped lead one of the nation's top teams to a 14-1 overall record and perfect 11-0 league mark to claim the Northeast-10 regular-season title. The Massapequa, N.Y. native is first among conference leaders in both goals (45) and points (63).

Le Moyne College grad student Alex Cameron-Carter was named Northeast-10 Defensive Player of the Year, as he has registered 26 groundballs and 13 caused turnovers for a Dolphins team allowing just 6.35 goals per contest.

American International College freshman Justin Bard was voted the Northeast-10 Rookie of the Year, as he is fourth among conference leaders in goals (37), third in assists (23) and second in points (60) for the Yellow Jackets.

Bentley University senior Josh Baker earned Northeast-10 Goalkeeper of the Year honors. Baker has posted a 7.91 goals-against average for the Falcons, while stopping 58.4 percent of the shots he has faced and posting an 8-6 record in goal.

Tuttle, Cameron-Carter and Baker all earned Northeast-10 First Team honors, while Bard was a Second Team selection.

Bentley's Jim Murphy was voted the 2014 Northeast-10 Coach of the Year by his peers, having led the Falcons to a 7-4 conference mark and the No. 4 seed in the Northeast-10 Championship.

The Northeast-10 Conference is an association of 15 NCAA Division II colleges and universities located in New England and New York that is committed to supporting balanced academic and athletic opportunities for more than 6,000 student-athletes. Each year, 4,000 of those student-athletes compete in conference championships in 23 sports, making the NE-10 the largest DII conference in the country in terms of sport sponsorship. Leading the way in the classroom, on the field and within the community, the Northeast-10 is proud of its comprehensive program and the experience it provides student-athletes.

2014 Northeast-10 Men's Lacrosse All-Conference Teams

First Team
Joe Celano, Adelphi (Gr., M , Farmingdale, N.Y.)
Tyler Felice Jennings, Adelphi (Sr., LSM, Syracuse, N.Y.)
Wayne Marx, Adelphi (Sr., D, Kings Park, N.Y.)
Greg Puskuldjian, Adelphi (Sr., M, Glen Head, N.Y.)
Salvatore Tuttle, Adelphi (So., A, Massapequa, N.Y.)
Nick Watson, Adelphi (Gr., A, Manchester, England)
Josh Baker, Bentley (Sr., GK, Randolph, N.J.)
Alex Cameron-Carter, Le Moyne (Gr., D, Manlius, N.Y.)
Andrew Chadderon, Le Moyne (Sr., M, Auburn, N.Y.)
Kevin Kelly, Le Moyne (Jr., A, Basking Ridge, N.J.)
Jimmy Holland, Merrimack (Sr., D, Billerica, Mass.)
Mike Perdie, Merrimack (Sr., M, Wading River, N.Y.)

Second Team
Justin Bard, American International (Fr., A, Westfield, Mass.)
Cutler Dimond, Bentley (Jr., A, Marblehead, Mass.)
Billy Sweeney, Bentley (Sr., D, Garden City, N.Y.)
Donnie Denman, Franklin Pierce (Jr., GK, Exeter, N.H.)
Kam Bumpus, Le Moyne (Sr., M, Marshfield, Mass.)
Mike Jenkins, Le Moyne (So., A, Clifton Park, N.Y.)
Brandon Waiter, Merrimack (Jr., D, Westport, Conn.)
Sam MacDonald, Saint Anselm (Sr., D, Hopkinton, Mass.)
Matthew Steele, Saint Anselm (Sr., M, Ipswich, Mas..)
Cooper Quenneville, Saint Michael's (Sr., M, Shoreham, Vt.)
Jake Files, Saint Rose (Jr., LSM, Syracuse, N.Y.)
Rob Murray, Southern New Hampshire (Sr., M, Marbelhead, Mass.)

All-Rookie Team
Ralph Faiella, Adelphi (LSM, Bellmore, N.Y.)
Eric Overdahl, American International (A, Milford, Mass.)
Justin Bard, American International (A, Westfield, Mass)
Matt Comerford, Assumption (GK, Reading, Mass.)
John Wheeler, Bentley (A, Scarborough, Maine)
Connor Holbrook, Bentley (D, Amherst, N.H.)
Robert Meyers, Franklin Pierce (D, Pompton Lakes, N.J.)
Brian Rogers, Le Moyne (M, Clifton Park, N.Y.)
Dom Maddona, Merrimack (GK, Liverpool, N.Y.)
Tucker Schwarz, Merrimack (A, Tallahassee, Fla.)
Brandon Donnellan, Pace (N, Chester, N.Y.)
Brennan Quakenbush, Saint Anselm (D, Marshfield, Mass.)
Tom Fitzgerald, Saint Michael's (A, Cranford, N.J.)
Joseph Shapiro, Saint Rose (GK, Syracuse, N.Y.)
Ryan Gruett, Southern New Hampshire (D, Lititz, Pa.)

Player of the Year – Salvatore Tuttle, Adelphi
Rookie of the Year – Justin Bard, American International
Defensive Player of the Year – Alex Cameron-Carter, Le Moyne
Goalkeeper of the Year – Josh Baker, Bentley
Coach of the Year – Jim Murphy, Bentley

comments powered by Disqus

More Headlines