May 25, 2014

Blog Replay: Limestone Ends Pioneers Run; Takes D2 Title

by Jac Coyne | | Twitter | May Madness Home

Kyle Rhatigan and the Saints have been a top team all season, but they face a cinderella run LIU Post in today's final. (John Strohsacker/

Limestone earned its first NCAA title since 2002 in dominating fashion on Sunday afternoon at Baltimore's M&T Bank Stadium, ending LIU Post's Cinderella run with a 12-6 victory to take the Division II crown for the third time in school history.

Vinny Ricci scored four goals and added an assist to pace the Saints, earning Most Outstanding Player honors on the day. Todd Nakasuji had a pair of goals and an assist, while Kyle Rhatigan had a goal and two assists and Patrick Sheridan made 13 saves in net.

Matty Beccaris scored twice for LIU Post, which got 14 saves from T. J. DiCarlo in the loss. 

We'll have more later from this contest on

In-Game Updates


comments powered by Disqus

More Headlines