May 7, 2009

Cortland's Morgan Named SUNYAC Player of Year

from press releases

CORTLAND,  N.Y. - SUNY Cortland senior midfielder Joey Morgan (Putnam Valley) has been chosen as the 2009 State University of New York Athletic Conference (SUNYAC) Men's Lacrosse Player of the Year and has also been chosen as the New York State Division III Men's Lacrosse Offensive Player of the Year. In addition, Cortland freshman attack Mike Tota (Webster/Webster Schroeder) has been named the SUNYAC Men's Lacrosse Rookie of the Year.

Eight Red Dragons were named to the All-SUNYAC team, including six on the first team. Other Cortland first-team all-league selections were junior attack Brian Krol (Niskayuna), sophomore midfielder Chris DeLuca (Sayville), senior long-stick midfielder Cody Hoyt (Babylon), sophomore short-stick defender Eric Parah (Baldwinsville/C.W. Baker) and senior defender Luke Lemon (Colorado Springs, CO/Air Academy). Tota and sophomore defenseman Justin Schneidman (Katonah/John Jay) were second-team all-league choices.

Morgan and Lemon were named to the all-state first team, while DeLuca was chosen to the all-state second team.

Morgan has recorded 23 goals and 12 assists in 15 games this spring. Tota has scored 40 goals and has 15 assists in 17 games and Krol has registered 34 goals and 12 assists in 17 contests. DeLuca is one of the nation's top faceoff specialists with a .720 winning percentage (170-of-236) and has also totaled 21 goals, 17 assists and a team-high 96 ground balls.

Hoyt, Parah, Lemon and Schneidman are key components to a defensive unit that has allowed less than 6.5 goals per game in 17 contests. Hoyt also has two goals and three assists, Parah has registered eight goals and three assists, Lemon has one assist and Schneidman has a goal and two assists.

Cortland (15-2) will host Springfield College in an NCAA Division III tournament second-round game on Saturday, May 9, at 1 p.m. The Red Dragons won the SUNYAC tournament title to earn their NCAA berth and are looking to advance to the national championship game for the fourth straight season.

comments powered by Disqus

More Headlines