June 1, 2009

West Captures NEILA All-Star Game Win

from press releases

Fairfield, Conn.  - Saint Anselm's Chris Murphy scored four goals and Middlebury's Dave Campbell added three scores as the West All-Stars outscored the East All-Stars 8-2 in the second half to claim a 17-11 victory in the 2009 Turfer/New England Intercollegiate Lacrosse Association East-West All-Star Game Sunday at Tufts University.

The East squad raced out to an 8-3 lead early in the game but the West stormed back to even the score at halftime. The second half was dominated by the west team who outscored the east team 8-2. Campbell was named the game's MVP, winning the NEILA/Ted Garber/Turfer Athletic Most Outstanding Player Award.

Twelve different players scored goals for the West squad. In addition to Murphy and Campbell, Western New England's Brody Savoie also scored two goals. Eastern Connecticut's Tom Albano made seven saves in goal while Springfield's Kyle Savage stopped eight shots.

For the East squad, nine different players found the back of the net. Babson's Eric Peterson and Roger Willams' Dave Hurley were the only players with multiple goals, each scoring a pair. Tufts' Matt Harrigan made 11 saves in the cage.


East 5 4 1 1 - 11
West 3 6 4 4 - 17


East Goals: Eric Peterson 2, Dave Hurley 2, Jo Pisano 1, Mike Ball 1, Greg Rogowski 1, Beaver Barone 1, Bobby Labadini 1, Mike Maggio 1, Kevin Williams 1 East Assists: Max Motschwiller 2, Brandon Dubs 2, Mike Ball 1, Greg Rogowski 1, Beaver Barone 1

West Goals: Chris Murphy 4, Dave Campbell 3, Brody Savoie 2,  Jason Ben-ellyahu 1, Matt Savage 1, Bobby Rushton 1,  Gary Messina 1, Matt Surette 1, DJ Simmons 1, Chris Jez 1, Steve Toomy 1 West Assists:  Jason Ben-ellyahu 1, Dave Campbell 1, Bobby Rushton 1, Gary Messina 1, Pat Elliott 1

East:  Matt Harrigan 11
West: Tom Albano 7, Kyle Savage 8

GAME MVP: Dave Campbell (Middlebury)

comments powered by Disqus

More Headlines