May 8, 2011

RIT, Stevenson Highlight Division III Field

by Jac Coyne | | NCAA Division III Tournament Bracket (PDF)

Nick Politarhos and Widener are in the tournament once again. The Pride will take on fellow Pennsylvania school Cabrini in the first round.

© Al Zacharka

The NCAA Division III men's lacrosse tournament field was released Sunday and the brackets are anchored by undefeated RIT in the North and Stevenson in the South.

The Tigers and Mustangs are the top seeds on their respective sides of the 26-team bracket.

The race for the final Pool C (at-large) berth was won by Nazareth, which edged Haverford.

Despite three losses by 13 goals or more -- including a 24-10 loss in the finals of the Empire 8 tournament -- the Golden Flyers were bolstered by a very strong strength of schedule. Rob Randall's crew will host Union, the winner of the Liberty League, in the first round Wednesday.

Nazareth, Stevens and RIT, give the E8 three bids to the tournament.

Joining the E8 with a trio of tournament teams is the NESCAC. Conference winner and defending national champion Tufts is joined by Middlebury and Amherst, teams which could potentially meet in the second round.

Middlebury will host in-state rival Castleton out of the North Atlantic Conference in the first round, while Amherst will entertain Keene State from the Little East.

Tufts will await the winner of the Nazareth-Union game in the second round.

The selection committee did a bit of shuffling among the two regions to make the brackets work. The winner of the Denison-Ohio Wesleyan game, which are both South teams as defined by the NCAA, will visit RIT. Meanwhile, the winner of the Springfield-Endicott game, featuring a pair of northern squads, will be sent to Salisbury, the South's No. 2 seed.

Cortland State picked up the third seed in the North, and will host the winner of the New Jersey clash between Montclair State and Stevens.

Dickinson, the third seed in the South, faces the victor of the Adrian-Wittenberg duel.

Stevenson will host the Widener-Cabrini winner.

Rounding out the brackets, the winner of the Gettysburg-Scranton contest will pair off with whichever team survives the Colorado College-Roanoke scrap.

All of the first-round games will take place on Wednesday, May 11, with second-round of games taking place Saturday, May 14.

comments powered by Disqus

More Headlines