January 20, 2012

Lycoming Men Release Schedule

from press release

– With three games slated against 2011 NCAA Division III Tournament participants, the Lycoming College men's lacrosse team will face plenty of challenges during its 14-game regular-season schedule, as released by second-year head coach Todd Hodgson on Thursday, Jan. 19.

In all, the Warriors' non-conference opponents posted a record of 86-53 (.619) in 2011, with five of the eight reaching the postseason.

Lycoming will open its season on Wednesday, Feb. 22, when it heads to Dickinson, ranked fourth in the USILA Preseason Top 20. The Red Devils finished 17-2 in 2011 and reached the quarterfinals of the NCAA Tournament.

The Warriors host their home opener on Saturday, Feb. 25, when they host local rival Susquehanna, which went 11-6 and reached the Landmark Conference semifinals in 2011. After a pair of games against New York teams SUNY Geneseo and Ithaca, both of which made their respective conferences' playoffs, the Warriors will host King's on March 10.

During the school's spring break, the Warriors will head to Baltimore to face defending Landmark Conference champion Scranton on March 17 before heading back to New York a third time to face perennial power St. John Fisher, which finished 12-4 in 2011.

After hosting Elmira on March 31, the Warriors will begin their first Commonwealth Conference slate in school history. The Middle Atlantic Conference split at the end of the 2011 season into the Freedom and Commonwealth Conference, with alignments similar to the Middle Atlantic Conference's alignment for basketball.

During its first go-round in the league, the Warriors will host Elizabethtown (April 5), first-year program Albright (April 21) and Messiah (April 24), while heading to Lebanon Valley (April 10), defending Middle Atlantic Conference champion Widener (April 14) and Alvernia (April 28).

Despite the conference realignment, the playoffs for the two conferences will be combined, with seven team participating, four from the Commonwealth and three from the Freedom. The first round of the Commonwealth Conference playoffs are set for Tuesday, May 1, with the first-place team hosting the fourth-place team and the second-place team hosting the third. On May 3, the winners of that round will face off before facing the winner of the Freedom League playoffs on Saturday, May 5 for the MAC's automatic bid.

The Warriors finished their 2011 campaign 9-8 overall, as they posted their fourth straight winning campaign and the 10th winning season in the program's 15-year history.

comments powered by Disqus

More Headlines