March 24, 2012

McCabe Eclipses Win Mark as Bowdoin Cruises

from press release

- Head coach Tom McCabe became the winningest coach in Bowdoin lacrosse history on Saturday afternoon as the Polar Bears built a big first half lead and held off Hamilton for a 13-9 victory.

The 15th-ranked Polar Bears improve to 4-1 (2-1 NESCAC) while the Continentals fall to 1-4 and remain winless in league play (0-4 NESCAC).

The victory moves McCabe, in his 22nd and final season, past former head coach Mort LaPointe for first place on the school's all-time wins list with 219. LaPointe won 218 contests over his 21 legendary seasons at the helm of the Polar Bears. McCabe's career total stands 11th among active Division III coaches and 15th all-time in Division III history.

Mark Flibotte and Franklin Reis scored three goals apiece for Bowdoin, who got a goal and five assists from Patrick Lawlor and two goals with three assists from Billy Bergner. Luke Sisler and Jon Leanos had two goals each for Hamilton.

After permitting the game's first goal, Bowdoin rolled off eight straight goals to take a commanding 8-1 lead at intermission. Flibotte scored all three of his goals in the run, while Reis notched a pair of man-up tallies. The Polar Bears scored six times in the second period alone.

Hamilton was able to chip away at the Bowdoin lead in the second half, but could not get closer than four goals until Luke Sadoff scored with 5:48 remaining to cut the lead to 12-9. Dan Hanley scored moments later for Bowdoin, pushing the lead back to four goals and sealing the victory for the Polar Bears.

Chris Williamson made 12 saves for Bowdoin while Brendan Hughes (11-15) and Brian Durkin (8-11) dominated the faceoff dot, winning 19 of 26 for the contest. Keegan Mehlhorn scooped a game-high seven ground balls for Bowdoin.

comments powered by Disqus

More Headlines