May 1, 2013

Cheifitz, Dorn Named Co-Skyline Players of the Year

from press release

NEW YORK, N.Y. – Juniors Richard Cheifitz of Kean and Montclair State's Michael Dorn have been named the 2013 Skyline Men's Lacrosse Players of the Year in voting conducted among the Conference's seven head coaches.

The Skyline coaches also selected Zach Schreck of Montclair State as Rookie of the Year and Montclair State's Chris Kivlen as Coach of the Year. In addition, Farmingdale State received the Team Sportsmanship Award.

Cheifitz is tied for third in the conference in goals (49), ranks third in assists (33) and leads the league in points with 82. The junior attack has tallied a conference-best five game-winning goals while leading Kean to a program-best 15 victories and berth in the finals of the Skyline Championship on Apr. 27. The Fair Lawn, N.J., resident and three-time Skyline Player of the Week selection in 2013 is averaging 9.35 shots per game and has compiled 29 ground balls.

Dorn enters the Red Hawks' upcoming matchup with Kean in the Skyline finals on Apr. 27 ranked first nationally in save percentage (.657) while recording an 11-3 record in net. The junior goalie from Blairstown, N.J., leads the conference in goals against average (6.22) and ranks fourth in saves with 136. Dorn was also tabbed the Skyline Player of the Week on Apr. 22.

A two-time Rookie of the Week selection, Schreck has scored 21 goals and dished out 20 assists while amassing 95 shots from his midfielder position over 17 contests. The Flemington, N.J., native has compiled 27 ground balls and 10 caused turnovers and earned second-team All-Conference distinction.

Cheifitz and Dorn are joined on the All-Conference first team by Kenneth Bogert, Kiel Dietrich, Sean Gilmore, Michael Lade, Sam Morrissey, Michael Schreck and Jack Skeels of Montclair State; Kean's John Marcelli and Zach Williams; Nick Bologno of Richard Stockton; and Farmingdale State's Donovan Devaney and Thomas Fallon.

The second-team All-Conference includes Zach Schreck, Michael Jevic and Robert Snow of Montclair State; Maritime's Matthew Hayes; Tom Clifford, Russell King and Brad Mills of Kean; Richard Stockton's Eugene Isola and Drew Wright; Kyle Kalibat of Mount Saint Vincent; and Farmingdale State's Peter Deignan, Ricky Morales and Bobby Thomas.

Now in his second season at Montclair State, Kivlen guided the Red Hawks (13-4) to a perfect 6-0 mark in league play and a berth in the finals of the Skyline Championship on Apr. 27 versus Kean. A 2005 graduate of the University of Albany, Kivlen also earned Skyline Coach of the Year honors in 2012 and is 24-10 in his two seasons at MSU.

2013 Skyline Men's Lacrosse All-Conference Team

First Team
Attack - Richard Cheifitz, Kean, Jr.
Attack - Nick Bologno, Richard Stockton, Soph.
Attack - Sam Morrissey, Montclair State, Jr.
Attack - Jack Skeels, Montclair State, Sr.
Midfield - Kenneth Bogert, Montclair State, Sr.
Midfield - John Marcelli, Kean, Jr.
Midfield - Michael Schreck, Montclair State, Soph.
SSDM - Donovan Devaney, Farmingdale State, Soph.
LSM - Sean Gilmore, Montclair State, Sr.
Defense - Kiel Dietrich, Montclair State, Soph.
Defense - Michael Lade, Montclair State, Sr.
Defense - Zach Williams, Kean, Jr.
Goalie - Michael Dorn, Montclair State, Jr.
Goalie - Thomas Fallon, Farmingdale State, Fr.

Second Team
Attack - Michael Jevic, Montclair State, Soph.
Attack - Brad Mills, Kean, Sr.
Attack - Bobby Thomas, Farmingdale State, Sr.
Midfield - Tom Clifford, Kean, Sr.
Midfield - Zach Schreck, Montclair State, Fr.
Midfield - Drew Wright, Richard Stockton, Jr.
SSDM - Matthew Hayes, Maritime, Fr.
SSDM - Eugene Isola, Richard Stockton, Soph.
LSM - Ricky Morales, Farmingdale State, Sr.
Defense - Peter Deignan, Farmingdale State, Sr.
Defense - Russell King, Kean, Sr.
Defense - Robert Snow, Montclair State, Soph.
Goalie - Kyle Kalibat, Mount St. Vincent, Jr.

Players of the Year: Richard Cheifitz, Kean; Michael Dorn, Montclair State
Rookie of the Year: Zach Schreck, Montclair State
Coach of the Year: Chris Kivlen, Montclair State
Team Sportsmanship Award: Farmingdale State

comments powered by Disqus

More Headlines