May 1, 2013

RIT Well-Represented In Liberty Awards

from press release

ROCHESTER, N.Y. - The Liberty League has announced its 2013 All-Liberty League awards for men's lacrosse. The major award winners and all-league teams are listed below.

2013 Liberty League Men's Lacrosse Awards

Offensive Player of the Year: Jack Krzyston, Jr., Attack, Rochester Institute of Technology

Krzyston led the Liberty League in scoring, averaging 4.27 points per game this season. A two-time offensive performer of the week honoree, he finished the regular season 39 goals and 25 assists for a total of 64 points. He led the Tigers' 10th-ranked scoring offense in both assists and points, while recording at least one point in 15 of 16 games this season, and two or more points in 13 games. Through six league games, Krzyston tallied 27 points (18 goals, nine assists) with a .806 shot percentage.

Defensive Player of the Year: Pat Johnston, So., Goalie, Rochester Institute of Technology

Johnston started all 16 games in net for the Tigers and posted a perfect 6-0 record in Liberty League contests this season with a 6.15 goals against average and .686 save percentage in those games. Overall, he finished second in the league with 6.27 goals against and .662 save percentage. At the conclusion of the regular season, Johnston's overall save percentage was the fourth best in Division III. The three-time defensive player of the week honoree posted double-digit saves in 14 of RIT's 16 games, and made a career-high 19 saves against RPI.

Rookie of the Year: Noah Parson, Fr., Attack, Vassar College

Parson finished his freshman season leading the Brewers in every major offensive category. He tallied 31 goals and 13 assists for a total of 44 points with a .667 shot on goal percentage. His points per game average of 3.14 ranked him fourth among league leaders. Parson scored in all but one of his 14 games played. He had three five-point games on the season, including a five goal effort against Western Connecticut.

Coaching Staff of the Year: Jake Coon, Rochester Institute of Technology

Head Coach Jake Coon and his staff led the No. 3 Tigers to a 14-2 overall record, including a perfect 6-0 regular season against Liberty League teams, the Division III leading man-up offense (0.53) and 10th-ranked scoring offense (14.88). Under Coon's leadership, RIT earned its second regular season championship and conference tournament appearance in as many seasons since coming to the Liberty League from the Empire 8.

A- Corey Herrington, Clarkson, So. *
A- Davey Hovey, St. Lawrence, Sr.
A- Jack Krzyston, RIT, Jr. *
A- Brett Overend, RPI, Sr.
M- Kyle Aquin, RIT, So. *
M- Pierson Fowler, St. Lawrence, Jr.
M- Mike Perlow, Skidmore, Sr. *
M- Brendon Shearin, Clarkson, Sr. *
LSM- Josh Robinson, St. Lawrence, Sr. *
SSM- Cam Scullen, St. Lawrence, Sr.
FO- Dylan Broomfield, Clarkson, So.
D- Elliott Cowburn, RIT, Sr. *
D- Adam Sands, Union, So.
D- J.D. St. Croix, Clarkson, So.
D- Brian Wilber, St. Lawrence, Sr. *
G- Pat Johnston, RIT, So.

* denotes unanimous selection

A- Bryan Connolly, Skidmore, Sr.
A- Eddie Kiesa, RIT, So.
A- Noah Parson, Vassar, Fr.
A- Rob Santangelo, Union, Jr.
M- Nate Greenberg, Union, Jr.
M- Jon Hoeg, Skidmore, Sr.
M- Allister Warren, RIT, So.
M- Taylor Wisman, RIT, Jr.
LSM- John Phillips, RPI, Fr.
SSM- Kyle Christine, Union, Sr.
FO- Tyler Brooks-Lambert, RIT, Jr.
D- Sam Christiansen, Skidmore, So.
D- Joe Dupra, RIT, Jr.
D- Zach Moro, RPI, So.
D- Jack Roberts, St. Lawrence, So.
G- Ryan Cole, Clarkson, Sr.

Nolan Connors, A (UNI); Mac Johnson, A (SLU); Jeremy Vautour, A (SLU); Colin Fortuner, M (RPI); Tucker Garfield, M (SLU); Matt Gold, M (CLK); Luke Wolfe, LSM (RIT); Mac Keehfus, SSM (RIT); Alex Stone, FO (UNI); Evan Burley, D (RIT); Rick Clement, D (CLK); Shawn Joyce, D (UNI); Jack Nuland, G (SLU)

comments powered by Disqus

More Headlines