May 1, 2013

York's Hutson Named CAC Player of the Year

from press release

YORK, Pa. - York sophomore Tyler Hutson (Westminster, Md./Winters Mill) became the first men's lacrosse player in conference history to win the CAC Player of the Year award the year after being selected by the coaches as the Rookie of the Year.

Hutson, one of six players from the second-place Spartans to earn all-conference recognition this season, picked up his second-straight first-team All-CAC nod. He joins Salisbury's Jeff Bigas (2002 Rookie, 2005 Player) as the only players to win both men's lacrosse awards. Hutson is also the first Spartan to be named men's lacrosse Player of the Year.

Hutson and junior midfielder Seth Krolus (Westminster, Md./Loyola Blakefield) were picked by the conference coaches as first-team all-stars while senior defender Justin Gordon (Baltimore, Md./Archbishop Curley), junior midfielder James Lowe (Monrovia, Md./Urbana), sophomore short stick specialist Drew Thomas (Limerick, Pa./Spring-Ford) and freshman goalie Caleb Abney (Forest Hill, Md./Fallston) were York's second-team all-stars.

The Frostburg State combination of freshman attack Spencer Love (Westminster, Md./Winters Mill) and coach Tommy Pearce secured the votes for the Rookie of the Year and Coach of the Year awards, respectively. Love joins junior teammate Ryan Serio (Pasadena, Md./Chesapeake) as Bobcats to win the Rookie of the Year award. Pearce, who started the FSU program three years ago, won the Coach of the Year award for the first time.

Bobcats joining Serio on the All-CAC second team were junior long pole Korey Bosley (York, Pa./York) and sophomore defenders Zack Burkhardt (Baltimore, Md./Eastern Tech) and Paul Newman (Pasadena, Md./Archbishop Spalding).

Two-time defending national champion Salisbury, which is ranked No. 8 in the country this season and will host the CAC title game Sunday (5/5) at 1 p.m., placed 11 players on the 29-player All-CAC team.

Seven Sea Gulls were named first-team all-stars in 2013, including senior midfielder Eric Kluge (North East, Md./North East), senior defender Brett Baer (Manchester, Md./Westminster), junior defender Josh Martin (Niskayuna, N.Y./Niskayuna), senior face off specialist Tyler Granelli (North Salem, N.Y./John Jay), freshman short stick specialist Preston Dabbs (St. Mary's City, Md./St. Mary's Ryken), junior long pole Zeke Smith (Frederick, Md./Walkersville) and junior goalie Alex Taylor (Woodbine, Md./Glenelg).

Granelli was named to the All-CAC team for the third-straight year, including his second-straight first-team appearance, while Smith and Taylor were second-team all-stars in 2012.

Second-team all-stars for the Sea Gulls include junior attack Rhett DePol (Chester, Md./St. Mary's), junior midfielders Greg Korvin (Odenton, Md./Arundel) and Tyler Smith (Madison, N.J./Madison) along with sophomore defender Knute Kraus (Rancho Santa Margarita, Calif./Tesoro). All are first-time All-CAC honorees.

St. Mary's, which finished third in the CAC regular-season but advanced to Sunday's CAC title match at Salisbury, earned five All-CAC awards, including senior attack Patrick Mull (Fallston, Md./Fallston), senior defender Justin Harty (Medford Lakes, N.J./Camden Catholic) and sophomore midfielder Matt Tarrant (Mount Airy, Md./Urbana) on the first team. Mull moved up from his position on the 2012 All-CAC second team.

Junior attack Ben Love (Owings Mills, Md./McDonogh) and senior face off specialist Albert Mitchell (Shrewsbury, Mass./Saint John's) represented the Seahawks on the 2013 All-CAC second team. Mitchell is a second-team all-star for the second-straight season.

Mary Washington picked up All-CAC awards for junior attack Luke Dick (Annapolis, Md./Archbishop Spalding) on the first team and senior midfielder Sean Dacey (Round Hill, Va./Loudoun County) on the second team. Both Eagles are first-time All-CAC honorees.

Also earning his first all-conference award is Wesley senior Michael McQuarrie (Bel Air, Md./C. Milton Wright), who was picked by the coaches as a second-team All-CAC face off specialist.

2013 All-CAC Men's Lacrosse Team

First Team Yr. Pos. Team Hometown/High School Previous Honors
Luke Dick Jr. Att Mary Washington Annapolis, Md./Arch. Spalding
Tyler Hutson So. Att York Westminster, Md./Winters Mill 1st & ROY in '12
Patrick Mull Sr. Att St. Mary's Fallston, Md./Fallston 2nd in '12
Eric Kluge Sr. Mid Salisbury North East, Md./North East
Seth Krolus Jr. Mid York Westminster, Md./Loyola Blakefield
Matt Tarrant So. Mid St. Mary's Mount Airy, Md./Urbana
Justin Harty Sr. Def St. Mary's Medford Lakes, N.J./Camden Cath.
Josh Martin Jr. Def Salisbury Niskayuna, N.Y./Niskayuna
Brett Baer Sr. Def Salisbury Manchester, Md./Westminster
Tyler Granelli Sr. FO Salisbury North Salem, N.Y./John Jay 1st in '12, 2nd in '11
Preston Dabbs Fr. SS Salisbury St. Mary's City, Md./St. Mary's Ryken
Zeke Smith Jr. LP Salisbury Frederick, Md./Walkersville 2nd in '12
Alex Taylor Jr. GK Salisbury Woodbine, Md./Glenelg 2nd in '12

Second Team Yr. Pos. Team Hometown/High School Previous Honors
Rhett DePol Jr. Att Salisbury Chester, Md./St. Mary's
Ben Love Jr. Att St. Mary's Owings Mills, Md./McDonogh
Ryan Serio Jr. Att Frostburg State Pasadena, Md./Chesapeake
Sean Dacey Sr. Mid Mary Washington Round Hill, Va./Loudoun County
Greg Korvin Jr. Mid Salisbury Odenton, Md./Arundel
James Lowe Jr. Mid York Monrovia, Md./Urbana
Tyler Smith Jr. Mid Salisbury Madison, N.J./Madison
Zack Burkhardt So. Def Frostburg State Baltimore, Md./Eastern Tech
Justin Gordon Sr. Def York Baltimore, Md./Arch. Curley
Knute Kraus So. Def Salisbury Rancho Santa Margarita, Calif./Tesoro
Paul Newman So. Def Frostburg State Pasadena, Md./Arch. Spalding
Albert Mitchell Sr. FO St. Mary's Shrewsbury, Mass./Saint John's 2nd in '12
Michael McQuarrie Sr. FO Wesley Bel Air, Md./C. Milton Wright
Drew Thomas So. SS York Limerick, Pa./Spring-Ford
Korey Bosley Jr. LP Frostburg State York, Pa./York
Caleb Abney Fr. GK York Forest Hill, Md./Fallston

2013 CAC Player of the Year: Tyler Hutson, York
2013 CAC Rookie of the Year: Spencer Love, Frostburg State (Fr., Attack, Westminster, Md./Winters Mill)
2013 CAC Coach of the Year: Tommy Pearce, Frostburg State

comments powered by Disqus

More Headlines