April 29, 2014

Susquehanna's Lein Leads Landmark Honorees

from press release

TOWSON, Md. - The Landmark Conference men's lacrosse coaches have voted and selected Susquehanna senior Austen Lein as the 2014 Player of the Year. U.S. Merchant Marine Academy's Chris Whitenack was voted the conference's Rookie of the Year.

Lein has helped Susquehanna to earn the No. 1 seed in the upcoming Landmark tournament as the Crusaders look to defend their 2013 title. Lein ranks second in the conference in scoring with 55 points on 23 goals and 32 assists. He leads the league in assists and has dished out 12 more than the second ranked player. He scored at least two points in every conference game and finished with 23 for the season in the six conference games. A Second Team All-Landmark selection a year ago, Lein has earned First Team honors this season.

Joining him on the First Team is Whitenack. The freshman ranks first in the nation in face-off winning percentage. Whitenack has won 76.3 percent of the draws he has taken this season, going 161-of-211 at the face-off "X". He is even better in conference play, with an 80.7 efficiency rate winning 88-of-109 attempts.

Attackmen Mike Marone and Sam Morgan are also First Team honorees. Marone led Drew this season with 20 goals and 19 assists through the regular season. Morgan tallied 23 goals and 13 assists for Goucher. He rattled off a career-high four goals in the Gophers' Landmark-win over Catholic earlier this season.

Four midfielders were named First Team including Scranton teammates John Gregitis and Alec Mikrut. The pair has combined to notch 79 points and rank fourth and sixth in the conference for scoring. Gregitis has scored 22 goals with 19 assists while Mikrut is the team's leading goal scorer with 28. Goucher's Pierce Ingram is a two-time First Team honoree. The senior midfielder tallied has scored 24 points for the Gophers thus far. Walter Hickey was dominant for Catholic this season. He scored a team-high 23 goals and added 10 assists for 33 points to be voted to the First Team.

A long stick midfielder, Scranton's Ryan Millard also earned First Team recognition. He finished the regular season with 55 ground balls. Scranton's Mike Deliberti was named the Landmark's top short stick defensive midfielder after earning Second Team honors last season. He picked up 57 ground balls to rank seventh in the conference.

Top defensive honors go to Goucher's Andrew Foster, Scranton's Ryan Saraceni, and Susquehanna's Corrie Van Haasteren. Van Haasteren is tied for the conference lead in caused turnovers with 29. All three players have 25 ground balls or more.

Scranton sophomore Nicholas McKaba was award top goalie honors. He boasts a league-low 6.61 goals against average with a 57.3 save percentage.

Drew head coach Tom Leanos and his staff were voted the Coaching Staff of the Year. This is Leanos' third honor in the seven years of Landmark competition. Drew's all-time leader in wins, Leanos led the Rangers back to the Landmark playoffs this season after missing out in 2013. Drew enters Wednesday's semifinal as the No. 4 seed after winning the last two conference games to clinch a playoff spot.

The 2014 Landmark Men's Lacrosse All-Conference Teams

First Team    Second Team
Attack         Attack      
Austen Lein
New Vernon, N.J.   Geoff Harty*
USMMA Jr. Chicago, Ill.
Mike Marone
Drew Sr.
Morristown, N.J.   Gus Sturm
Scranton Sr.
Devon, Pa.
Sam Morgan
Goucher Jr.
Wilmot, N.H.   Phil Walker
Falmouth, Mass.

Midfield         Midfield

John Gregitis
Wayne, Pa.   Owen Demmerly
Medford, N.J.
Walter Hickey Catholic Sr. Thornwood, N.Y.   Troy Smith
Deer Park, Texas
Pierce Ingram* Goucher Sr. Austin, Texas   Ray Waters USMMA
Sayville, N.Y.
Alec Mikrut Scranton So.
Belle Mead, N.J.  

Long Stick Midfield

  Long Stick Midfield

Ryan Millard
Long Valley, N.J.   Kyle Sammis USMMA Jr. Dix Hills, N.Y.
Short-Stick Defensive Midfield       Short-Stick Defensive Midfield

Mike Deliberti
Scranton Sr. Fairfield, Conn.
  Steve Patterson Goucher
Sr. Minneapolis, Minn.
Face-Off Specialist         Face-Off Specialist

Chris Whitenack
USMMA Fr. East Meadow, N.Y.   Matt Finor Scranton Jr.
Churchville, Pa.
Defense         Defense

Andrew Foster
Ashland, Ohio   Jack Drexel
Ellicott City, Md.
Ryan Saraceni
Lansdale, Pa.   Mike Lloyd
Drew Fr.
Glen Ridge, N.J.
Corrie Van Haasteren
Raymone, Maine   Gus Sawicki
Louisville, Colo.


Goalie         Goalie

Nicholas McKaba
Long Valley, N.J.   Karl Wiszumerski Goucher
Jr. Pottstown, Pa.

* 2013 First Team All-Landmark

comments powered by Disqus

More Headlines