April 30, 2014

Sewanee Sweeps SAA Conference Awards

from press release

SEWANEE, Tenn. - Michael Morris, a senior attack from Charlottesville, Va., won his second consecutive Offensive Player of the Year by being a dominant force for the Tigers. Morris can be found at the top of most every offensive statistical category including leading the league in points and assists. He tallied the second-most goals in conference play (23) and had a two-game stretch in league action where he posted 6 goals in consecutive games. With 63 ground balls on the season, Morris ranked second on his Sewanee squad and 8th overall in the league to demonstrate his versatility in the Tigers' attack.

A senior goalkeeper from Washington, D.C., Tommy Healy went the whole season without letting in more shots that he saved in any contest. In conference play, he was easily the league's most dominate goalie and overall defender. He led the conference in goals against (24), goals against average (5.26), and wins (6). His 69.1 save percentage was a full 10 percentage points higher than the next closest goalkeeper, illustrating the outstanding season he had en route to winning Defensive Player of the Year.

A freshman defender from Boca Raton, Fla., Jake Rubenstein was Sewanee's top cover defenseman on a squad that gave up 7.32 goals per game and only 5.03 per game in conference play. As just a freshman, Rubenstein drew the opponents' top offensive threat each time out and regularly shut them down. Rubenstein scooped up 31 balls for the Tigers in 2014, sixth-most on the regular season champion squad.

For the second straight year Marty Watters has been selected Coach of the Year by his coaching peers. Watters guided Sewanee to a 12-4 overall record that included a perfect 7-0 run through the SAA on the Tigers' way to their second straight regular season title. Additionally, Watters took Sewanee to their first-ever trip to the NCAA's in 2013, a feat he's likely to repeat in 2014. With six years of head coaching experience, Watters has also coached at Washington and Lee in Virginia and Skidmore College in New York. A 2001 graduate of Skidmore College (B.A.-Economics), Watters was captain of the 2001 ECAC finalist lacrosse team.

Award Winners

Offensive Player of the Year: Michael Morris of Sewanee
Defensive Player of the Year: Tommy Healy of Sewanee
Newcomer of the Year: Jake Rubenstein of Sewanee
Coach of the Year: Marty Watters of Sewanee

All-Conference First Team

Goalkeeper (1): Tommy Healy (Sewanee)
Attack (3): Michael Morris (Sewanee), Peter Murphy (Centre), Cory Hall (Berry)
Midfield (3): Davis Brown (Sewanee), Maxwell Smerka (Berry), Cameron Millstone (Hendrix)
Defense (3): Jake Rubenstein (Sewanee), Jack Chase (Berry), Billy McMahon (BSC)
Long Stick Midfielder (1): Brandon Barrett (Sewanee)
Short Stick Defensive Midfielder (1): Christian Akers (Berry)
Face-off Specialist (1): Hal Smith (Sewanee)

All-Conference Second Team

Goalkeeper (1): Jordan Boreman (Berry)
Attack (3): Connor Stubbs (Centre), Hunter Stevison (Millsaps) , Bryan Byers (Berry)
Midfield (3): Reed Daniel (Sewanee) , Sumner Franklin (Centre), Nat Morey (Berry)
Defense (3): James Bennett (Centre), Dan D'Ostuni (Hendrix), Jake Lane, (Berry)
Long Stick Midfielder (1): Tommy Edgeworth (Berry)
Short Stick Defensive Midfielder (1): Charles Richardson (Sewanee)
Face-off Specialist (1): Patrick Vaughn (Centre)

All-Conference Honorable Mention

Goalkeeper (1): Bryce McCoy (Centre)
Attack (3): Matthew Stiefel (Sewanee), Carson Boone (Hendrix), Simon Sherman (Millsaps)
Midfield (3): Cotter Brown (Sewanee), Mitchell Kraus (Centre), McHale Schneider (Birmingham-Southern)
Defense (3): Robert Dozier (BSC), Christian Labenberg (Rhodes), Wil Rainer (Sewanee)
Long Stick Midfielder (1): Mason Paas (Centre)
Short Stick Defensive Midfielder (1):Peter Raffanti (Birmingham-Southern)
Face-off Specialist (1): Jason Blatt (Hendrix)

comments powered by Disqus

More Headlines