May 1, 2014

CAC All-Conference Team Announced

from press release

YORK, Pa. - Regular-season co-champions Salisbury and York combined to fill 19 of the 29 positions on the 2014 All-CAC Men's Lacrosse Team, but it was Mary Washington senior attack Luke Dick that earned first-team all-star honors and was named the conference Player of the Year. Dick, a two-time first-team All-CAC player, is the first Mary Washington player to be named Player of the Year.

York tied for the regular-season title for the first time in team history and was rewarded with 10 post-season honors, including freshman defender Garrett Barker as the Rookie of the Year and Brandon Childs as Coach of the Year. Barker is the third Spartan to win the Rookie of the Year award, joining teammate Tyler Hutson (2012) and Andrew Collins (2004) in that exclusive club. Childs is the first YCP mentor to win the CAC Coach of the Year award.

Hutson, who was the CAC Player of the Year in 2013, earned his third-straight first-team All-CAC award and was one of a CAC-leading six Spartans named to the 2014 All-CAC first team. He was joined by sophomore attack Andrew Gamble, senior midfielders Seth Krolus and James Lowe, sophomore defender Josh Kluver and sophomore keeper Caleb Abney.

Spartan juniors named to the All-CAC second team were short stick specialist Andrew Thomas and long pole defender Tyler Fields. Krolus, Lowe, Abney and Thomas were all members of the 2013 All-CAC team.

Regular-season co-champion Salisbury, which will host York in the playoff title match Saturday, registered a CAC-best 11 players on the all-star team, led by first-team picks senior midfielder Donovan Lange, senior defender Josh Martin, junior defender Knute Kraus, senior long pole defender Zeke Smith and sophomore short stick specialist Preston Dabbs. Smith is a three-time all-star while Martin, Kraus and Dabbs are repeat selections on the All-CAC team.

Six Sea Gulls also earned second-team all-star nods, including senior attackmen Rhett DePol and Luke Phipps, senior midfielder Greg Korvin, sophomore midfielder Thomas Cirillo, senior face off specialist Chris Biank and senior keeper Alex Taylor. DePol and Korvin were second-team all-stars last year while Taylor is making his third appearance on the All-CAC men's lacrosse team.

In addition to Dick being named Player of the Year and a first-team all-star for the second-straight season, Mary Washington placed four players on the All-CAC second team. Senior attack John Bohlinger and sophomore middie Joey Marson are repeat selections while senior midfielder Chip Pittard and senior defender Charlie Webb are first-time All-CAC picks.

Frostburg State, in just its fourth varsity season, placed three players on this year's all-star roster, led by senior face off specialist Billy Lark. The Bobcats also earned the second-consecutive second-team all-star awards for junior defenders Zack Burkhardt and Paul Newman.

First-year CAC member Christopher Newport and 2013 CAC Champion St. Mary's each picked up one second-team all-star honor. SMC's senior attack Ben Love collected his second-straight All-CAC second-team honor while CNU senior Teddy Pekalski gained his first conference all-star award as a long pole defender.

2014 All-CAC Men's Lacrosse Team

First Team Yr. Pos. Team Hometown/High School Previous Honors
Luke Dick Sr. Att Mary Washington Annapolis, Md./Arch. Spalding 1st in '13
Andrew Gamble So. Att York Easton, Md./Easton
Tyler Hutson Jr. Att York Westminster, Md./Winters Mill 1st & POY in '13 1st & ROY in '12
Seth Krolus Sr. Mid York Westminster, Md./Loyola Blakefield 1st in '13
Donovan Lange Sr. Mid Salisbury Glen Burnie, Md./Northeast
James Lowe Sr. Mid York Monrovia, Md./Urbana 2nd in '13
Josh Kluver So. Def York Abington, Pa./Abington
Knute Kraus Jr. Def Salisbury Rancho Santa Margarita, Calif./Tesoro 2nd in '13
Josh Martin Sr. Def Salisbury Niskayuna, N.Y./Niskayuna 1st in '13
Billy Lark Sr. FO Frostburg State Huntingtown, Md./Huntingtown
Preston Dabbs So. SS Salisbury St. Mary's City, Md./St. Mary's Ryken 1st in '13
Zeke Smith Sr. LP Salisbury Frederick, Md./Walkersville 1st in '13, 2nd in '12
Caleb Abney So. GK York Forest Hill, Md./Fallston 2nd in '13

Second Team Yr. Pos. Team Hometown/High School Previous Honors
John Bohlinger Sr. Att Mary Washington Westfield, N.J./Westfield 2nd in '12
Rhett DePol Sr. Att Salisbury Chester, Md./St. Mary's 2nd in '13
Ben Love Sr. Att St. Mary's Owings Mills, Md./McDonogh 2nd in '13
Luke Phipps Sr. Att Salisbury Street, Md./John Carroll
Thomas Cirillo So. Mid Salisbury Eastchester, N.Y./Eastchester
Greg Korvin Sr. Mid Salisbury Odenton, Md./Arundel 2nd in '13
Joey Marson So. Mid Mary Washington Chantilly, Va./Chantilly 2nd in '12
Chip Pittard Sr. Mid Mary Washington Setauket, N.Y./Ward-Melville
Zack Burkhardt Jr. Def Frostburg State Baltimore, Md./Eastern Tech 2nd in '13
Paul Newman Jr. Def Frostburg State Pasadena, Md./Arch. Spalding 2nd in '13
Charlie Webb Sr. Def Mary Washington Vienna, Va./Madison
Chris Biank Sr. FO Salisbury Wharton, N.J./Roxbury
Andrew Thomas Jr. SS York Limerick, Pa./Spring-Ford 2nd in '13
Tyler Fields Jr. LP York Catonsville, Md./Mount St. Joseph
Teddy Pekalski Sr. LP Christopher Newport Cranston, R.I./Bishop Hendricken
Alex Taylor Sr. GK Salisbury Woodbine, Md./Glenelg 1st in '13, 2nd in '12

2014 CAC Player of the Year: Luke Dick, Mary Washington
2014 CAC Rookie of the Year: Garrett Barker, York (Fr., Defense, Bel Air, Md./C. Milton Wright H.S.)
2014 CAC Coach of the Year: Brandon Childs, York

comments powered by Disqus

More Headlines