June 10, 2014

Ace Adams College Sportsmanship Winners

from press release

The US Lacrosse Men’s Collegiate Officials Committee has named the recipients of the James “Ace” Adams Sportsmanship Award for the 2014 lacrosse season. Initiated in 2006, the awards are presented annually to the college or university in each of the 11 officiating districts whose coaches, players, and fans exhibit the best sportsmanship throughout the season.

Both college varsity (NCAA) and club (MCLA) programs are eligible for consideration, with the winners selected by voting among each districts’ officials.

The award exemplifies the tradition of sportsmanship in lacrosse displayed by Ace Adams, who amassed 284 collegiate victories during a coaching career that spanned across five decades and included stints at the United States Military Academy (Army), University of Pennsylvania and University of Virginia. At the time of his retirement in 1992, Adams had the most wins of any active NCAA Division I coach. He was inducted into the National Lacrosse Hall of Fame in 1975.

The winners of the 2014 James “Ace” Adams Sportsmanship Awards are:

District 1 – Amherst College – Head Coach Jon Thompson

District 2 – Houghton College – Head Coach Joey Wilmot

District 3 – SUNY Maritime College – Head Coach Daniel Lawrence

District 4 – Hampden-Sydney College – Head Coach Ray Rostan

District 5 – Saint Leo University – Head Coach Brad Jorgensen
District 6 – Aurora University – Head Coach Kylor Berkman

District 7 – Miami University – Head Coach Chuck Wilson

District 8 – Louisiana State University – Head Coach Jeff Echols

District 9 – Utah State University – Head Coach Jonathan Atwood
District 10 – University of California, Berkeley – Head Coach Dan Nourse

District 11 – Gonzaga University – Head Coach Lawrence Sullivan

Nine of this year’s recipients are first-time winners of the prestigious honor. Repeat winners are St. Leo, from District 5, which won the award previously in 2006, and Utah State, from District 9, which won in 2009.

"The Ace Adams Award demonstrates the commitment of all collegiate officials to identify and recognize good sportsmanship behavior," said Tom Sutton, men’s game officials’ committee chair. "The coaches and teams who receive this award have demonstrated excellent sportsmanship on a consistent basis, and we want them to know that it does not go unnoticed and is very much appreciated."

This year’s winners will be recognized at the 2015 US Lacrosse National Convention, presented by Champion, at the Baltimore Convention Center, January 23-25.

comments powered by Disqus

More Headlines