November 2, 2011

FSU, SCAD Atop SELC Preseason Poll

from press release

 -- SouthEastern Lacrosse Conference (SELC) Coaches stayed with the known and familiar, anticipating that defending champions Florida State and SCAD (Savannah College of Art & Design) will repeat as 2012 DI and DII Champions respectively.

The divisional poll is based on 1-20 points, with first place teams receiving one point up to last place team receiving 20. Regional rankings work on the same basis; the lower the point total, the higher ranked the team.


Team (1st Pl. Votes)
1. Florida State (9)
2. Clemson (4)
3. Virginia Tech
4. South Carolina (1)
5. Central Florida (1)
6. Florida (1)
7. Georgia
8. Tennessee
9. Georgia Tech
10. N.C. State
11. Richmond
12. Alabama
13. Wake Forest
14. Miami
15. Auburn
16. West Virginia
17. Kentucky
18. East Carolina
19. Mississippi
20. South Florida

Florida State tallied 26 points and received nine first place votes in capturing the top slot. Close behind was 2011 runner-up Clemson with 36 points and four first place votes. Perennial contender Virginia Tech ranked third with 52 points, followed by South Carolina (92/1), Central Florida (98/1) and Florida (103/1).

Rounding out the Top 10 are Georgia (105), Tennessee (155), Georgia Tech (164) and NC State (182). Richmond, an SELC newcomer, was picked to finish 11th (188).

Within the SELC D1 NORTH DIVISION, the Clemson (17/15) were tabbed as DI NorthEast Region champions ahead of the South Carolina (31/1). In the NorthWest DI, Virginia Tech (18/14) was picked to hold serve, followed by Tennessee (45), and Richmond (50/2).

In the SELC D1 SOUTH DIVISION, the Seminoles (18/14) lay claim to the SouthEast Region, ahead of the Central Florida (40/1) and Florida (43/1). In the SouthWest, Georgia is picked to win out (19/13) over Georgia Tech (39/3) and Alabama (51).

Clemson got the nod as North Divisional Champion with eight votes, followed by VT with 6, and Richmond and South Carolina with one each.

Florida State logged 13 votes as South Divisional Champion with Central Florida, Florida, and Georgia each receiving one vote.

Florida State tallied eight votes to win SELC CHAMPIONSHIP SUNDAY with Clemson receiving four votes and Central Florida, Florida, Georgia, and South Carolina each receiving one vote each.


Team (1st Pl. Votes)
1. SCAD (14)
2. Elon (2)
3. Kennesaw State
4. Emory
5. UNC-Charlotte
6. Palm Beach Atlantic
7. Appalachian State
8. Davidson
9. Tennessee Wesleyan (1)
10. Coastal Carolina
11. North Florida
12. College of Charleston
13. Liberty
14. The Citadel
15. Florida Gulf Coast
16. Wofford
17. Georgia Southern
18. Southern Virginia
19. Reinhardt
20. Georgia State

The SCAD Bees racked up only 22 points and snagged 14 first place votes as the decisive top pick in DII. Elon University ranks second, tallying 46 points and three first place votes. Kennesaw State is third (74), followed by Emory (118), UNC Charlotte (131), Palm Beach Atlantic (132), Appalachian State (156), Davidson (162), Tennessee Wesleyan (168/1) and Coastal Carolina with 179 pts.

UNC Charlotte is tabbed as favorites in the NorthEast Region, logging 32 points and 13 first place votes, ahead of Coastal Carolina (53/2) and College of Charleston (61/4). The NorthWest Region is led by Elon (23/18), with Appalachian State (57), Davidson (58) and Liberty (64/1) picked in a tight battle for second.

In the DII SouthEast Region, SCAD is the decisive choice (19/19). Palm Beach Atlantic (46) is given the best chance of challenging the Bees. Kennesaw State is the pick to win the DII SouthWest (29/13) with Tennessee Wesleyan (45/3) and Emory (51/3) expected to contend.

Elon is picked as SELC DII North Champion, receiving 16 votes with Davidson, Liberty, The Citadel, and UNC-Charlotte each picking up one vote.

SCAD is the favorite in DII South, with 17 votes, ahead of Kennesaw State (2) and Tennessee Wesleyan (1).

SCAD is expected to repeat as SELC DII Champions, receiving 14 votes with Elon picked by four voters, with Kennesaw State and Tennessee Wesleyan selected on one ballot each.

The SELC 2012 season starts in late January and will wind up at the SELC Championships, hosted in Johns Creek, Ga., the weekend of April 27–29. The SELC consists of 20 Division I and 20 Division II teams from nine states. Approximately 1,500 collegiate athletes compete in the SELC. The SELC is a charter member conference of the Men's Collegiate Lacrosse Association (MCLA), a national organization of 220 collegiate club teams.

comments powered by Disqus

More Headlines