April 24, 2009

Big East Announces Major Award Winners

from press release

ARLINGTON, Va. - The 2009 BIG EAST women's lacrosse championship began a weekend of postseason action with a banquet announcing major award winners and the league's all-conference teams Thursday evening at the Key Bridge Marriott. Georgetown senior Bridget Noon was named the BIG EAST Defensive Player of the Year, while GU head coach Ricky Fried was named the BIG EAST Coach of the Year. Hoyas' junior Ashby Kaestner and Syracuse junior Christina Dove were each named BIG EAST Midfielders of the Year. The Orange also saw senior Katie Rowan, joined by Notre Dame senior Jillian Byers as the BIG EAST Attack Players of the Year.
The announcement came the night before the semifinal games of the BIG EAST Championship. The year's Championship is being held April 24 and 26 at Georgetown's Multi-Sport Field in Washington, D.C. It is the third year of the BIG EAST women's lacrosse championship and the first time it is being held at Georgetown.
Noon helped propel the Hoyas to a regular-season league championship for the first time since 2007, their eighth overall. The GU defense held six opponents to single-digit scoring totals and held two opponents to five goals or less. The Hoyas were 6-0 when holding their opponent to single figures. Noon totaled 35 draw controls and 29 ground balls, while playing in all 15 games this season. She was part of a Georgetown defense that allowed just 9.53 goals per game, including a scant 8.97 goals against average in league play. The senior was named to the league's weekly honor roll on April 6.
Fried earns his first BIG EAST Coach of the Year honor in his fifth season with the Hoyas. He directed Georgetown to an 11-4 mark during the regular season, including a 6-1 record in conference play for a share of the regular-season title. Fried and the Hoyas beat then-No. 7 Syracuse 11-10 in four overtimes on April 3 at home in the longest game in BIG EAST women's lacrosse history. The win also gave Georgetown a head-to-head tiebreaker in the final standings as both teams finished conference play 6-1. The Hoyas were ranked in the top 10 of the national polls each week this season, rising as high as No. 4 on March 16.
Kaestner was named the BIG EAST Midfielder of the Year after totaling 51 points, including 36 goals and 15 assists. The junior had a team-leading 25 points in conference play, including 20 goals and five assists. Kaestner scored both the game-tying and game-winning goals in an 11-10 four-overtime victory against Syracuse on April 3. That win helped the Hoyas capture their eighth regular-season league championship and the conference tournament's No. 1 seed. She also had 36 draw controls and 30 ground balls. Kaestner was named the BIG EAST Offensive Player of the Week twice this season. She is a finalist for the Tewaaraton Award given annually to the nation's top player.
Dove also was named the BIG EAST Midfielder of the Year after totaling 65 points, including a team-leading 48 goals, and 17 assists. The junior had a team-best 22 goals, along with eight assists in conference play to total 30 points. Dove helped the Orange capture their third straight regular-season league championship as Syracuse tied Georgetown with a 6-1 mark in BIG EAST play. Dove was named to the league's weekly honor roll on March 23 and registered at least one goal in every game this season.
Rowan was named the BIG EAST Attack Player of the Year. Totaling a league-leading 84 points, including a conference-best 45 assists, along with 39 goals during the regular season, the four-year starter amassed league-leading numbers of 47 points and 28 assists in BIG EAST play. Rowan became the league's all-time leading scorer in a 13-8 win at Connecticut on March 14. She has totaled 134 points in her BIG EAST career easily surpassing the old mark of 94 set by former Syracuse standout Leigh-Ann Zimmer in 2004. Rowan has totaled 368 career points and ranks seventh on the all-time NCAA scoring list. The league's Preseason Offensive Player of the Year, Rowan also was the 2008 BIG EAST Attack Player of the Year making her the first two-time recipient since Georgetown's Coco Stanwick (2007 and 2005) and the second overall. Like Georgetown's Kaestner, she is a finalist for the Tewaaraton Award.
Byers also earned the BIG EAST Attack Player of the Year honors. Totaling a league-leading 64 goals, Byers finished with 82 points in 16 games. She scored a BIG EAST-leading 31 goals in conference play and finished with 42 points. Byers scored a BIG EAST single-game record 12 points (seven goals and five assists) in a 20-5 victory over Connecticut on April 18. The feat was a school-record performance. Byers also is a finalist for the Tewaaraton Award.
2009 BIG EAST Women's Lacrosse All-Conference Teams

BIG EAST Attack Players of the Year
Jillian Byers, Notre Dame
Katie Rowan, Syracuse
BIG EAST Defensive Player of the Year
Bridget Noon, Georgetown
BIG EAST Midfielders of the Year
Christina Dove, Syracuse
Ashby Kaestner, Georgetown
BIG EAST Coach of the Year
Ricky Fried, Georgetown
All-BIG EAST First Team
Shaylyn Blaney, Notre Dame, So., M
Shannon Burke, Notre Dame, Sr., D
*Jillian Byers, Notre Dame, Sr., A
*Christina Dove, Syracuse, Jr., M
Cara Filippelli, Loyola, So., D
*Molly Ford, Georgetown, Jr., A
*Grace Gavin, Loyola, So., M
Liz Hogan, Syracuse, So., GK
*Ashby Kaestner, Georgetown, Jr., M
Bridget Noon, Georgetown, Sr., D
Halley Quillinan, Syracuse, Jr., A
*Katie Rowan, Syracuse, Sr., A
*unanimous selections
All-BIG EAST Second Team
Megan Bloomer, Georgetown, Sr., M
Brooke Cantwell, Rutgers, Jr., A
Emily Dashiell, Louisville, So., M
Bergan Foley, Louisville, So., A
Caitlin Formby, Georgetown, Jr., GK (Second Team Goalkeeper)
Jordy Kirr, Georgetown, So., A
Colleen O'Keefe, Loyola, Sr., A
Abby Rehfuss, Loyola, So., M
Lindsay Rogers, Syracuse, Jr., D
Gina Scioscia, Notre Dame, Jr., A
Meg Steffe, Loyola, So., GK (at-large selection)
Jordan Trautman, Georgetown, Sr., D


The 2009 championship will feature No. 1 seed Georgetown (11-4, 6-1 BIG EAST) against No. 4 seed Louisville (9-5, 3-4 BIG EAST) at approximately 7:45 p.m. ET on April 24. No. 2 seed Syracuse (12-3, 6-1 BIG EAST) kicks off the championship against No. 3 seed Notre Dame (12-4, 5-2 BIG EAST) at 5:30 p.m. ET. The winner receives the league's automatic berth into the NCAA Championship.

comments powered by Disqus

More Headlines