April 26, 2009

Irish Top Hoyas for Big East Title, AQ

from press release and staff report

WASHINGTON, D.C. - Notre Dame beat Georgetown 12-10 in the title game of the Big East women's lacrosse championship before a sun-splashed crowd of more than 600 at Georgetown's Multi-Sport Field. Irish senior goalkeeper Erin Goodman totaled nine saves in the victory and was named the tournament's Most Outstanding Player. Irish senior Jillian Byers also was outstanding, as she totaled five points, including two goals, and was named to the all-tournament team.

It was Notre Dame's first Big East women's lacrosse championship, as the Irish secured the conference's automatic bid to the NCAA Division I women's lacrosse tournament.

Notre Dame junior attack Gina Scioscia registered five points, including two goals and was named to the all-tournament team.

The Irish raced out of the gates, scoring the first four goals of the contest. Byers assisted on two of the first three scores and made her presence known all over the field early as the Irish led 4-0 with 16:50 left in the first half.

The Hoyas notched their first goal of the game with 11:19 left in the contest as sophomore Allie Hubschmann scored an unassisted tally. Notre Dame answered with three more scores as Byers netted one goal and assisted on another to make it 7-1 with 8:32 left in the first half.

Byers finished the first half with three assists and one goal as the Irish led 9-2. The seven-goal lead was similar to the 9-2 advantage Notre Dame held over Georgetown midway through the first half of the 2008 semifinals. The Hoyas cut into that lead and made it 10-6 at the half, before winning 15-14 in triple-overtime. That would not be the case Sunday, as the Irish held on for the victory.

Trailing by eight, 12-4, with 19:40 left in the contest, the Hoyas went on a furious rally. Six unanswered goals have Georgetown two-goal deficit with 7:01 remaining in the game, but the Irish defense clamped down and held on for the win.

Georgetown sophomore Jordy Kirr led the offense with four points, including three goals and was named to the all-tournament team.

All-Tournament Team

Katie Rowan, Syracuse

Bergan Foley, Louisville

Ashby Kaestner, Georgetown

Molly Ford, Georgetown

Jordy Kirr, Georgetown

Bridget Noon, Georgetown

Jillian Byers, Notre Dame

Shannon Burke, Notre Dame

Kailene Abt, Notre Dame

Gina Scioscia, Notre Dame

Rachel Guerrera, Notre Dame

Erin Goodman, Notre Dame

Most Outstanding Player

Erin Goodman, Notre Dame

comments powered by Disqus

More Headlines