April 28, 2009

Northwestern's Hannah Nielsen was named the American Lacrosse Conference's Player of the Year for the second consecutive year while an Ohio State rookie picked up the conference's top freshman honor for the second consecutive year. The Buckeyes' Alayna Markwordt was named ALC
Rookie of the Year while Northwestern took two more top honors as Morgan  Lathrop was named the league's Goalie of the Year and head coach Kelly  Amonte Hiller earned Coach of the Year honors as the conference  announced its annual awards Tuesday.

Northwestern led all teams  with nine players between two teams; Penn State had five honorees while Vanderbilt was recognized with four players. Ohio State and Johns  Hopkins both claimed three representatives on the squads, all of whom were selected by a vote of the conference's head coaches.

Nielsen keeps the honor in the 'Cats' family as Northwestern picked up Player of the Year honors for the fifth consecutive year. The national leader in points and assists, Nielsen averages 6.59 points per game and 3.53 assists per game. She also ranks third in the conference  in draw controls per game (2.59) and fourth in goals per game (3.06).  The Australian was named the ALC Offensive Player of the Week five  times, including a stretch of four consecutive. She was also named the  National Player of the Week twice this season. The 2008 Tewaaraton  honoree, Nielsen holds the game (10), season (69), and career (201)  assists records in collegiate women's lacrosse history.

Markwordt is the fifth Buckeye to earn Rookie of the Year  honors. The rookie ranks fifth in  the league in scoring (4.38 ppg)  while averaging 2.69 goals per game (6th, ALC) and 1.69 assists per game (3rd, ALC). A three-time ALC Rookie of the Week selection, Markwordt was  also named the ALC Offensive Player of the Week once.

Lathrop ranks second in the nation in goals-against average  (5.96) and ranks fifth nationally in save percentage (52.2%). The 2007  ALC Goalie of the Year, Lathrop also ranks among the conference leaders  in ground balls, ranking ninth with 1.76 gbpg. Amonte Hiller, who has
guided the team to a 17-0 record and the top seed in the tournament,  earned her fifth ALC Coach the Year honors with this selection.  Northwestern leads the nation in scoring offense, scoring margin and draw controls while ranking second in scoring defense.

Northwestern's Hilary Bowen and Nielsen and Vanderbilt's Cara  Giordano repeat as members of the ALC first team. The 'Cats' Lathrop and  Danielle Spencer as well as Johns Hopkins' Angela Hughes and Penn State's Kerry Shea were both members of the ALC second team in 2008 and  were named to the first team in 2009. Penn State's Theresa Bucci and Northwestern's Meredith Frank both repeat their honor as a second team honoree from 2008.

The 'Cats had five first team honorees while Vanderbilt had three and Ohio State had two; Penn State and Johns Hopkins both had a player named to the first team as well. Penn State and Northwestern had four selections on the second team while Johns Hopkins had a pair and
Vanderbilt and Ohio State both had one honoree.

Player of the Year: Hannah Nielsen, Northwestern
Rookie of the Year: Alayna Markwordt, Ohio State
Goalie of the Year: Morgan Lathrop, Northwestern
Coach of the Year: Kelly Amonte Hiller, Northwestern

*ALC First Team*
Hilary Bowen, Northwestern
Katrina Dowd, Northwestern
Sarah Downing, Vanderbilt
Cara Giordano, Vanderbilt
Kendall Gysin, Ohio State
Kelly Haggerty, Ohio State
Angela Hughes, Johns Hopkins
Morgan Lathrop, Northwestern
Alex Mundy, Vanderbilt
Hannah Nielsen, Northwestern
Kerry Shea, Penn State
Danielle Spencer, Northwestern

*ALC Second Team*
Ashley Boccio, Penn State
Maggie Bremer, Northwestern
Theresa Bucci, Penn State
Ally Carey, Vanderbilt
Stephanie Ellis, Penn State
Alexandra Frank, Northwestern
Meredith Frank, Northwestern
Alyssa Kildare, Johns Hopkins
Alayna Markwordt, Ohio State
Colleen McCaffrey, Johns Hopkins
Kristen McCandlish, Northwestern
Erica Mihm, Penn State

comments powered by Disqus

More Headlines