January 28, 2011

Northwestern Unanimous Choice to Win ALC

from press release

The Northwestern Wildcats sit on top of the preseason poll for the American Lacrosse Conference as the league opens up its tenth season in 2011. The 'Cats, a unanimous choice at the top ranking in the conference, are the reigning ALC champions. Northwestern is followed by Vanderbilt, Penn State, Florida, Johns Hopkins and Ohio State.

The 'Cats also claim four members of the ALC preseason All-Conference team, including 2010 All-Americans Alex Frank, Shannon Smith and Taylor Thornton. They are joined by Colleen Magarity. Johns Hopkins, Ohio State and Penn State each boast two student-athleteOhio State's Annie Carruthers, the 2010 ALC Goalie of the Year, is one of two Buckeyes on the list, along with Alayna Markwordt.

Maggie Dunbar and Jen Steadman from Penn State made the list, as did Alyssa Kildate and Candace Rossi from Johns Hopkins, both of whom earned All-Conference honors in 2010. ALC and National Rookie of the Year Ashley Bruns represents Florida, while first team All-American Ally Carey represents Vanderbilt.

American Lacrosse Conference Preseason Poll
1. Northwestern
2. Vanderbilt
3. Penn State
4. Florida
5. Johns Hopkins
6. Ohio State

American Lacrosse Conference Preseason Team
Ashley Bruns, Florida^
Ally Carey, Vanderbilt*
Annie Carruthers, Ohio State*
Alex Frank, Northwestern^
Maggie Dunbar, Penn State*
Alyssa Kildare, Johns Hopkins*
Colleen Magarity, Northwestern^
Alayna Markwordt, Ohio State*
Candace Rossi, Johns Hopkins^
Shannon Smith, Northwestern*
Jen Steadman, Penn State
Taylor Thornton, Northwestern^

* 2010 ALC First Team
^ 2010 ALC Second Team

comments powered by Disqus

More Headlines