February 9, 2012

AlC Announces "Players to Watch" List

from press release

- The American Lacrosse Conference has announced the 16 players named to the Players to Watch List for the 2012 season, as selected by the league's head coaches. Each of the six schools fielding a team in the upcoming season has representation on the team, led by the Northwestern Wildcats, who have four players so honored. Included in the list are 2011 ALC Player of the Year Kitty Cullen from Florida, 2011 Tewaaraton Trophy recipient Shannon Smith of Northwestern, 2011 ALC Rookie of the Year Alyssa Leonard from Northwestern, and 2011 ALC Goalie of the Year Dana Cahill from Penn State.

Florida and Johns Hopkins each have three players named to the team, while Penn State, Ohio State, and Vanderbilt each have two student-athletes recognized.

All-Americans Shannon Smith and Taylor Thorton, the IWLCA National Attacker and Defender of the Year from 2011, respectively, are part of the Northwestern Contingent on the list. Joining them is 2011 ALC First Team honoree Alex Frank, along with Leonard.

Florida's Cullen is joined by Sam Farrell and Ashley Bruns, both of whom were named to the First Team from last season. Bruns was the 2010 ALC Rookie of the Year.

Johns Hopkins' Colleen McCaffrey, a 2011 first team honoree, was named to the list along with Taylor D'Amore and Candace Rossi, both of whom were named to the ALC Second Team in 2011.

Markwordt, who earned first team honors a year ago, is joined by Gabby Capuzzi, who was named to the ALC second team in 2011. Vanderbilt's Ally Carey, recognized on the 2011 first team, was named to the team along with teammate Courtney Kirk. Cahill is joined by Penn State teammate Theresa Zichelli.

2012 ALC Players to Watch

Ashley Bruns, Florida
Dana Cahill, Penn State
Gabby Capuzzi, Ohio State
Ally Carey, Vanderbilt
Kitty Cullen, Florida
Taylor D'Amore, Johns Hopkins
Sam Farrell, Florida
Alex Frank, Northwestern
Courtney Kirk, Vanderbilt
Alyssa Leonard, Northwestern
Alayna Markwordt, Ohio State
Colleen McCaffrey, Johns Hopkins
Candace Rossi, Johns Hopkins
Shannon Smith, Northwestern
Taylor Thornton, Northwestern
Theresa Zichell, Penn State

comments powered by Disqus

More Headlines