February 17, 2010

Susquehanna Women on the Upswing

from press release

SELINSGROVE, Pa. -- The Susquehanna University women's lacrosse team will be led by second-year head coach Laura Moan in 2010. The team finished with a record of 7-6 in 2009, including a 1-4 record in the Landmark Conference.

It took Coach Moan, a recent inductee into The Greater Baltimore Chapter of the US Lacrosse Hall of Fame, just one season to give Susquehanna its most wins since 2005 and first winning year since 2003. Still, Moan will look to add more wins this year to a rich team history that includes four straight years of at least 12 wins from 1999 to 2002.

The team will be led once again this year by tri-captain Sarah Wright '11 (Princeton, N.J./Princeton HS). Wright, a midfielder, led SU with 37 goals, 17 assists, 54 points and 36 draw controls in 2009 on her way to all-Landmark honors. Her three game-winning goals led the team as well and tied for the conference high.

Attack Ally Bauer '12 (Kinnelon, N.J./Kinnelon) returns this year as well. Bauer scored 22 goals, including two game-winners, as part of 25 points last season. Another scoring threat, attack Erin Dyer '12 (West Caldwell, N.J./James Caldwell) and her 17 goals and six assists from a season ago, will be back in 2010.

The team will be without the services of midfielders Sara Franckowiak and Katelyn Deese '09 this year though. Franckowiak notched 19 goals and nine assists last year, while Deese picked up 12 goals, nine assists and team-high 56 ground balls and 31 caused turnovers while joining Wright on the all-conference squad. Deese's 4.31 ground balls per game led the conference, and her 2.38 caused turnovers per contest ranked second.

Midfielder Cindy Wilson '09 is also gone. A steady presence in every game last year, she registered nine goals, 35 ground balls, 27 draw controls and 19 caused turnovers while serving as a tri-captain alongside Deese and starting goalkeeper Meredith Tompeck '09.

Like the team, Tompeck finished 7-6 last year. She put up a 12.76 goals against average and .408 save percentage. Her backup, Pamela Keilig '12, will not return for 2010 either, meaning the team's biggest question mark this year could be the goalkeeper position. Keilig did not factor in a decision last season but compiled a 4.32 gaa and .562 save percentage in limited action.

Moan is expected to start rookie Emily Stankaitis '13 (Honeoye Falls, N.Y./Honeoye Falls-Lima) in goal this year, backed up by Heather Heath '13 (Glen Rock, N.J./Glen Rock).

The team will rely on two experienced defenders in front of Stankaitis in Brittany McCann '12 (Glenolden, Pa./Interboro) and Abbie Handerhan '11 (Arlington, Va./Connelly School of Holy Child). McCann saw action in every game last year, tallying an assist while picking up 20 ground balls and causing 12 turnovers. Handerhan played in 12 games, even scoring a goal while collecting 16 ground balls and eight caused turnovers.

Handerhan joins Wright and attack Kirsten Detwiler '11 (Montchanin, Del./Wilmington Friends) as tri-captains this year. Detwiler registered five goals and four assists last year, and Moan expects more contributions from her this year after a fine offseason.

Midfielder Marra Landino '12 (Brownsville, Vt./Kimball Union Academy) returns in 2010 as well. Landino played in every game last year and picked up four goals, an assist, 24 ground balls and 13 draw controls.

Academics are a large part of the team's overall success, as seven Crusaders women's lacrosse players earned a spot on the 2009 Landmark spring academic honor roll.

Susquehanna starts the 2010 season with a non-conference game at Haverford College on Feb. 27. The home opener comes against the York College of Pennsylvania at Sassafras Fields on March 16.

Landmark play begins with a home game against Moravian College on April 10.

SU will have to be one of the top four teams in conference play to qualify for the Landmark championships, to be held this season on May 5 (semifinals) and May 8 (final).


comments powered by Disqus

More Headlines